Become A Member. Just £100 a yearDonate Subscribe
Pick a date
Loading Events

John O’Gallagher/Hans Koller

John O’Gallagher – Saxophone
Hans Koller – Piano
Percy Pursglove – Bass
Jeff Williams – Drums

London-based pianist Hans Koller and New York saxophonist John O’Gallagher – “both heavyweight theoreticians, but fizzing with jazz heat” (John Fordham) are re-united for this special Vortex gig playing material written especially for this innovative quartet, with Jeff Williams on drums and Percy Pursglove on bass.

John O’Gallagher has recently released the ambitious Anton Webern Project (a vibrant jazz take on the 12-tone methods of the serialist composers), as well as a thoroughly researched book on 12 tone improvisation (on advance music).
A rare chance to catch one of the music’s most individual thinkers and players.

“a synthesis of modern New York improvisation and serial technique; a multi-layered, artful music that swings despite all the complexity and grooves.” – ★★★★★, Nordwestschweiz (Switzerland)

Site by OBLONG