Become A Member. Just £100 a yearDonate Subscribe
Pick a date
Loading Events

Matt Anderson Quartet

“The writing on Rambling is outstanding: varied and imaginative… There’s a beautiful warmth to Anderson’s sound that suffuses the whole album.”
Thomas Rees, Jazzwise

“memorable melodies, adeptly interwoven influences… unhurriedly stylish… (Anderson) can deliver an ear-catching tenor sax flourish, but knows the value of understatement and uses it well. This is solidly-crafted small group jazz that knows its history, but wears its learning lightly.”
Jon Turney, London Jazz News

London-based saxophonist and Dankworth Prize-winning composer Matt Anderson presents his quartet exploring new original material ahead of an upcoming album recording in 2020. They will also play music from their 2018 critically-acclaimed release ‘Rambling,’ which won praise from the likes of Jazzwise, BBC Radio 3 and Jazz FM for its “outstanding,” melodic writing and “uniformly excellent playing”, all fronted by Anderson’s warm tenor sound.

The band also features Alberto Palau (Charles McPherson, Jean Toussaint, Peter Bernstein) on piano, Jay Davis (Big Bad Wolf, Alex Hitchcock Quintet) on drums and Will Harris (Michelson Morley, Alan Barnes, Dave Newton) on double-bass. Rooted in a deep love and respect for the jazz tradition from Sonny Rollins to Wayne Shorter, Matt’s music also explores influences from the folk music of his rural upbringing in the North Yorkshire Moors, alongside bluesy, country strains reminiscent of Bill Frisell and British and European jazz.

This tour comes off the back of recent performances by the band at Jamboree, Barcelona and Jimmy Glass, Valencia, as well as a 22-date U.K. tour in 2018 and shows at Amsterdam’s Bimhuis and The Vortex. The new album follows Matt’s debut, Wild Flower, which was described by Selwyn Harris of Jazzwise as “their own unique stamp on Shorter’s very personal repertoire… of a quality that resonates with its inspirational source… Enjoyably un-pretentious.”


Matt Anderson – Tenor and Soprano Saxophones
Alberto Palau Garcera – Piano
Will Harris – Double-Bass
Jay Davis – Drums

Site by OBLONG