Become A Member. Just £100 a yearDonate Subscribe
Pick a date
Loading Events

Sean Gibbs Quintet

Sean Gibbs Quintet
Sean Gibbs – Trumpet
Helena Kay – Tenor Saxophone
Rob Brockway – Piano
Calum Gourlay – Bass
Jay Davis – Drums


Trumpet player and composer Sean Gibbs (known for his work with Fervour, the Scottish National Jazz Orchestra, the Calum Gourlay Big Band and many more) brings a new quintet to The Vortex, made up of top players on the London jazz scene. They will be performing Sean’s original music, characterised by lyrical melodies, strong grooves and a deep connection to the blues. Also featured will be music by some of Sean’s favourite composers, including the likes of Duke Ellington and Fred Hersch.


Peter Bacon (of London Jazz News) – “When I spot trumpeter Sean Gibbs in a band my spirits lift; I know there will be spot on ensemble playing and expertly-turned, beautifully toned solos”


Herald Scotland – “Gibbs’ music has bags of personality and his soloing is full of ideas, now cool and reflective, now fast and assertive, now downright mischievous.”


Site by OBLONG