Become A Member. Just £100 a year Subscribe
Pick a date
Loading Events

Wed 19 September 2018

Nikki Yeoh Solo Gemini

Since her emergence on the British jazz scene in the mid 90s pianist Nikki Yeoh has proved to be an improviser, composer and all-round adventurer who has continually sought to broaden…

Thu 20 September 2018

Evan Parker – Trance Map & Tom Wheatley

Evan and Matt met in 2008 and out of their first studio sessions developed Trance Map, an album of over an hour long that mixes field recordings, samples from cassettes, turntable scratching and the live processing of Evan’s relentlessly evolving saxophone lines.

Fri 21 September 2018

Sat 22 September 2018

Sun 23 September 2018

Mon 24 September 2018

The Shape of Jazz To Come Presents… FORJ and NIMA

Two bands NIMA and Forj. High octane grooves and expansive improvisation from ‘Forj’, a quartet led by Scottish drummer Jonathan Silk. Following a sold-out show at Edinburgh Jazz Festival, Nima bring their eclectic influences drawing inspiration from everywhere: jazz, soul, bluegrass and all types of world music.

Tue 25 September 2018

Wed 26 September 2018

Thu 27 September 2018

Sloth Racket

Sloth Racket is a band of UK improvisers led by baritone saxophonist Cath Roberts, with Sam Andreae on alto saxophone, Anton Hunter on guitar, Seth Bennett on bass and Johnny Hunter…

Fri 28 September 2018

Sat 29 September 2018

Sun 30 September 2018

Mon 01 October 2018

Mick Foster Quartet

Led by top baritone sax player Mick Foster, the quartet play an interesting and diverse repertoire of original compositions and some well known jazz pieces.

Tue 02 October 2018

Wed 03 October 2018

Thu 04 October 2018

Fri 05 October 2018

Sat 06 October 2018

Sun 07 October 2018

Mon 08 October 2018

Tue 09 October 2018

Charlie Pyne Quartet Album Launch

This is the launch party for Charlie Pyne Quartet’s debut album ‘Dancing Shadows’. Expect ECM-inspired jazz with big grooves, memorable tunes and a story-telling vibe.

Wed 10 October 2018

Chris Batchelor’s Zoetic

Zoetic Zoetic is a new London based group of very experienced improvising musicians. Chris Batchelor, John Paricelli and Steve Watts were all members of influential British big band Loose Tubes…

Fri 12 October 2018

Tim Berne/Matt Mitchell (Two Night Residency)

Berne was aptly named one of New York City’s essential jazz icons by Time Out New York, while the UK’s Jazzwise magazine underscored the growing stature of his music by declaring it“suffused with genuine humanity and more than a little wisdom.” The New York Times praised Mitchell as“a pianist of burrowing focus and an indispensable fixture of the contemporary vanguard.”

Sat 13 October 2018

Tim Berne/Matt Mitchell (Two Night Residency)

Berne was aptly named one of New York City’s essential jazz icons by Time Out New York, while the UK’s Jazzwise magazine underscored the growing stature of his music by declaring it“suffused with genuine humanity and more than a little wisdom.” The New York Times praised Mitchell as“a pianist of burrowing focus and an indispensable fixture of the contemporary vanguard.”

Sun 14 October 2018

Mon 15 October 2018

Calum Gourlay Big Band

Our monthly residency continues for a big band initiated by bassist Calum Gourlay, known for his great work with Thelonious, an award-winning solo album and more. “I want it to…

Tue 16 October 2018

Wed 17 October 2018

James Copus Quartet

Welcoming a fine young trumpeter leading a band in his own right, who has already played with some of the greats of this country, often at the Vortex!

Thu 18 October 2018

Blow the Fuse presents: The Casimir Connection

Casimir Connection is a jazz chamber group for the modern era. Saxophonist and composer Diane McLoughlin’s new ensemble explores the boundaries between classical, folk and jazz.

Fri 19 October 2018

Alina Bzhezhinska Quartet: Inspiration

“On Inspiration (the Alina Bzhezhinska Quartet) bathe deeply in the spirit of Alice and John’s majestic, meditative music, yet also use it as a point of departure for new personal directions. The journey is within, to a better place for humanity.”  – Kevin Le Gendre

Sat 20 October 2018

Clark Tracey

Clark Tracey leads his new quintet playing modern jazz with energy and pleasure, involving BBC Young Jazz Musician Alexandra Ridout and saxophonist Sean Payne

Sun 21 October 2018

Blues & Roots Ensemble

Blues and Roots Ensemble perform modern adaptations arrangements of classic and lesser known Charles Mingus compositions.

Mon 22 October 2018

Chanda Rule ft. Kirk Lightsey

“Chanda Rule is the most amazing, elegant, fascinating, all in all greatest singer is saw in the last 30 or 40 years, and I saw them all” (pianist Kirk Lightsey)

Tue 23 October 2018

Wed 24 October 2018

Thu 25 October 2018

Sat 27 October 2018

A Portrait of Cannonball featuring Tony Kofi, Byron Wallen

Alto-sax master Tony Kofi fronts this loving celebration of the jazz giant (in every sense) Julian ‘Cannnonball’ Adderley.  With Byron Wallen on cornet, Alex Webb (piano), Andy Cleyndert (bass) and Alfonso Vitale (drums)…

Sun 28 October 2018

Tue 30 October 2018

Parallel Society

This quintet from Dublin has a refreshing new sound that combines various styles such as hip-hop, classical, electronica, north Indian classical, grunge and modern jazz with powerful improvisation.

Wed 31 October 2018

Andre Canniere’s Darkening Blue

The Darkening Blue, led by American trumpeter and composer Andre Canniere, will perform new music inspired by selected works of UK based poets Malika Booker and Rebecca Lynch.

Thu 01 November 2018

Sun 04 November 2018

Mon 05 November 2018

Tue 06 November 2018

Wed 07 November 2018

Thu 08 November 2018

Fri 16 November 2018

Sat 17 November 2018

Site by OBLONG