Become A Member. Just £100 a year Subscribe
Pick a date
Loading Events

Mon 18 February 2019

Metamorphic & Laura Cole Solo

A special evening features a solo piano set and a full band set from Metamorphic featuring material from two recent album releases – Laura’s solo album Enough and Metamorphic’s The Two Fridas.

Tue 19 February 2019

Archipelago

Playing experimental, genre blending music, award winning Tyneside trio Archipelago fuse jazz, alt-rock and free improvisation to name a few, taking inspiration from musicians as diverse as Don Cherry, Morphine and Joni Mitchell.

Wed 20 February 2019

Thu 21 February 2019

John Warren Nonet

Line-Up: Steve Fishwick, Sam Braysher, Pete Hurt, Owen Dawson, Sam Rapley, Nick Costley – White, Alcyona Mick, Dave Whitford, Dave Hamblett, John Warren The John Warren Nonet comprises some of…

Fri 22 February 2019

Georgia Mancio

Award-winning jazz vocalist, lyricist and producer, Georgia Mancio, is one of Europe’s most respected, adventurous and multi-faceted new artists. Her music references classic jazz and Latin alongside her own astonishing…

Sat 23 February 2019

Sun 24 February 2019

Floating Circles

Floating Circles Quartet Aidan Pearson – clarinet Dom Stockbridge – guitar Jonny Wickham – bass Arthur Newell – drums Blurb taken from a review by Ian Mann: http://www.thejazzmann.com/reviews/review/eleven-yesterdays-ago/ Floating Circles Quartet…

Fragments

Adam Fairhall – piano  //  Seth Bennett – double bass  //  Johnny Hunter – drums Fragments began in late 2013 as a workshop band exploring new methods of combining improvisation and composition.  Rather than incorporating…

Mon 25 February 2019

Jazz Alloy 3

The third Jazz Alloy collaboration is a young jazz combo of three astonishing artists. No one in London could have missed the last and praised album “Halftime” by the saxophone…

Tue 26 February 2019

Wed 27 February 2019

Joyful Noise presents: TONY REMY

Tony Rémy has been a mainstay on the international jazz and funk scene for over 30 years. Tonight he plays with his explosive quartet featuring: Anders Olinder (keyboards/piano), Nick Cohen (bass) & Frank Tontoh (drums)

Thu 28 February 2019

Fri 01 March 2019

FOFOULAH

Batch Gueye – vocals, sabar & dance Kaw Secka – vocals & sabar Tom Challenger – sax & keys Phil Stevenson – guitar Johnny Brierley – bass Dave Smith –…

Sat 02 March 2019

Monica Vasconcelos

We welcome back Mônica Vasconcelos, beloved singer songwriter who never fails to entrance audiences here at the Vortex. Now she is back at The Vortex performing songs from their Robert Wyatt…

Sun 03 March 2019

Tue 05 March 2019

Deep Tide

Open ended jazz playing with no stylistic limits – written scores, graphic scores, improvisation – improvisation which is inclusive of melody and structure – whatever we feel like playing –…

Wed 06 March 2019

JZ Replacement featuring Tim Lefebvre

Line up: Zhenya Strigalev – saxes, electronics Jamie Murray – drums Tim Lefebvre – bass, electronics   JZ Replacement is a high energy and intense newly formed project, having just…

Thu 07 March 2019

Evan Parker

The spectrum of music played by Evan Parker ranges from “free jazz” to “free improvisation”. Each month Evan invites different guests to play with him. This evening the guests are…

Fri 08 March 2019

Sat 09 March 2019

JOHN ETHERIDGE’S BlUE SPIRITS TRIO

Led by guitar legend John Etheridge, the Blue Spirits Trio includes Jim Watson (organ) & Nic France (drums) Drawing on a vast reservoir of musical experience spanning 43 years ,Etheridge…

Sun 10 March 2019

Sue Rynhart and Huw Warren

Alban Berg, medieval chant, traditional Irish song, 19th Century Russian literature, gothic fiction and Homer’s Odyssey are some of the inspiration for the work of this exceptional duo. Sue Rynhart…

Mon 11 March 2019

Tue 12 March 2019

Zoe Gilby Duo

Zoe Gilby is a vocalist and songwriter, making a stunning impression on the music scene today. Her compelling original compositions are written with double bassist husband Andy Champion. Her stockpile…

Wed 13 March 2019

ELDA ft. Kari Eskild Havenstrøm

ELDA is a longstanding duo collaboration between piano/keyboard player Andrew Woodhead and trumpeter Aaron Diaz (The Destroyers, Sid Peacock), mixing acoustic sounds with live electronics and soundscapes. For their latest project they are collaborating with…

Fri 15 March 2019

Sat 16 March 2019

Sun 17 March 2019

Robert Stillman’s Peace on Earth

PEACE ON EARTH Robert Stillman- Tenor Saxophone Tom Challenger- Tenor Saxophone David Okumu- Guitar Tom Skinner- Drums Tom Herbert-Bass PEACE ON EARTH is a band comprised of saxophonist Robert Stillman, drummer Tom…

Mon 18 March 2019

Wed 20 March 2019

Floors

Floors is collective project formed by three of the most intriguing young musicians of the new Italian jazz scene. Francesco Ponticelli, Francesco Diodati and Filippo Vignato founded the trio driven…

Thu 21 March 2019

Sat 23 March 2019

Sun 24 March 2019

Ethan Iverson

Ethan Iverson – Piano Conor Chaplin – Bass Jeff Williams – Drums Pianist, composer, and writer Ethan Iverson was a founding member of The Bad Plus, a game-changing collective with…

Tue 26 March 2019

Uncanny Valley

‘The group formed in July 2017 and perform original music composed by the British contingent of it’s members. Challenger and Donkin are long-time associates from London, where Challenger still resides.…

Wed 27 March 2019

Thu 28 March 2019

Calum Gourlay Big Band

Our monthly residency continues for a big band initiated by bassist Calum Gourlay, known for his great work with Thelonious, an award-winning solo album and more. “I want it to…

Sun 31 March 2019

Manos Hadjidakis: The Man, The Music…

Katerina Clambaneva, voice  Anastasis Sarakatsanos, piano  Pavlos Carvalho, cello/bouzouki   Revealing the profound, at time prophetic, musings of this cherished Greek composer and exploring the range of his music, beyond…

Sat 06 April 2019

DESOLA and Band

Tonight Desola plays from her latest albums – REST and INTIMACY.

Sun 07 April 2019

KADAWA

Versatile NYC based trio KADAWA makes its Vortex debut, performing original compositions from their upcoming 2nd album. Expect powerful grooves, distinct moods and adventurous improvisations.

Tue 09 April 2019

Wed 01 May 2019

THE KATE LUXMOORE GROUP

THE KATE LUXMOORE GROUP “A clarinettist with a big English sound”. (The Telegraph jazz blogspot)

Site by OBLONG