Become A Member. Just £100 a year Subscribe
Pick a date
Loading Events

Tue 23 October 2018

Wed 24 October 2018

Thu 25 October 2018

Words & Jazz

Words & Jazz offers the BEST in contemporary poetry and jazz – this October we have hugely talented poets and musicians for your delectation! Come and have a cocktail in the cosy bar and be part of this ‘outstanding summit between contemporary poets and musicians’ (The Independent)
Not one to be missed

Fri 26 October 2018

Sat 27 October 2018

Sun 28 October 2018

Mon 29 October 2018

Treppenwitz

Treppenwitz is dedicated to a familial approach to improvised music. The central philosophy is that all music is related, outgrowths from the same seed; passages of explorative beauty and space sit alongside energetic bursts of freedom. Compositions are contributed by the members, with something open-ended deliberately in mind; the shapes and contours of the music develop organically, different every time, always seeking.

Tue 30 October 2018

Parallel Society

This quintet from Dublin has a refreshing new sound that combines various styles such as hip-hop, classical, electronica, north Indian classical, grunge and modern jazz with powerful improvisation.

Wed 31 October 2018

Andre Canniere’s Darkening Blue

The Darkening Blue, led by American trumpeter and composer Andre Canniere, will perform new music inspired by selected works of UK based poets Malika Booker and Rebecca Lynch.

Thu 01 November 2018

Sun 04 November 2018

Mon 05 November 2018

Tue 06 November 2018

Wed 07 November 2018

Riley Stone-Lonergan Quartet

Riley Stone-Lonergan Quartet Riley Stone-Lonergan – Tenor Rick Simpson – Piano Tim Thornton – Bass Will Glaser – Drums UK-based Irishman Riley Stone-Lonergan started working as a professional musician in…

Thu 08 November 2018

Fri 09 November 2018

Roller Trio

“Something fresh from Roller Trio…electronics is now part of the arsenal of the band and they get creative with it…on the anthem track Mad Dryad.” Julian Joseph BBC RADIO 3

” this third Roller album demonstrates moments of captivating dynamism and haunting beauty…such an innovative and iconoclastic band…” ALL ABOUT JAZZ

“New Devices” lives up to its name with the members of Roller Trio embracing technology to expand the group’s sound, and doing so imaginatively and intelligently.” THE JAZZMANN

Sat 10 November 2018

Sun 11 November 2018

Mon 12 November 2018

Tue 13 November 2018

Sam Leak Trio – “Adrift” album launch party

The Sam Leak Trio perform contemporary jazz with a gospel-tinged, folk-inspired, freedom and abandon. “Adrift” has been described as “compelling,” and “entirely gripping from beginning to end.”

Wed 14 November 2018

Thu 15 November 2018

Fri 16 November 2018

Sat 17 November 2018

Sun 18 November 2018

Mon 19 November 2018

Tue 20 November 2018

Wed 21 November 2018

Thu 22 November 2018

Noel Langley’s EDENTIDE

Noel Langley has been at the forefront of the British music scene for nearly thirty years, enjoying a multi-faceted career as a performer, composer, arranger, arranger, producer and bandleader. Here he brings his critically acclaimed project EDENTIDE to the Vortex.

Sat 24 November 2018

Sun 25 November 2018

Family Band – Board of Origin Album Launch

Comprising four long-term collaborators and friends (thus the ‘family’ tag), the band takes as its starting point the freewheeling music of the 1960s free jazz revolution; moments of fierce intensity, introspection and the blues all combining into an emotionally complex and often cathartic whole.

Tue 27 November 2018

Eirik Svela Group

Featuring an exciting mix of Norwegian and UK jazz musicians this band preforms original music that effortlessly combines pretty melodies and complicated chord changes.

Wed 28 November 2018

Thu 29 November 2018

Lorraine Baker – ‘Eden’ Album Launch

Rising star Lorraine Baker bursts onto the UK Jazz Scene to launch her debut album “Eden.” Her individual style has gained attention from top international musicians, describing her playing as “magical” and “deeply rooted in the tradition of the great drummers of jazz.”

The show focuses on tunes famously played by late drummer Ed Blackwell, re-arranged and using newly composed elements to give the music an edgy modern twist, perfectly showcasing the all star band and Lorraine’s unique sound as an improviser. Expect a fusion of afro, dance and rock grooves with driving swing and elements of free improvisation.

Fri 30 November 2018

Babelfish

Co-led by Brigitte Beraha & Barry Green and featuring legends Chris Laurence & Paul Clarvis, this ‘remarkable quartet’ play the final concert of their much-anticipated 20-date 2018 UK tour.

Sat 01 December 2018

David Torn solo + Sonar with David Torn (2 Nights)

The beast comes out! It’s guitarist David Torn and Swiss progressive quartet Sonar performing for two nights. Sonar is a mathematically oriented, rhythmically-based quartet that formed a temporary quintet by adding Torn’s as the third guitar, and his unconventional looping and sound manipulations.

Sun 02 December 2018

Mon 03 December 2018

Svarc Hanley Longhawn

Svarc Hanley Longhawn Nick Svarc – Guitar Steve Hanley – Drums Martin Longhawn – Organ Formed in 2012, Svarc Hanley Longhawn are a collaborative band performing original music with influences…

Tue 04 December 2018

Wed 05 December 2018

Thu 06 December 2018

Fri 07 December 2018

Devin Gray’s Dirigo Rataplan

Dirigo Rataplan Devin Gray – Drums Dave Ballou​ – Trumpet Ellery Eskelin​ – Tenor Saxophone Michael Formanek​ – Bass Devin has been fortunate to perform in many places around the…

Sun 09 December 2018

London Jazz Orchestra

The London Jazz Orchestra Vortex Sessions, at 28 years old, is London’s longest jazz residency. Under the direction of Scott Stroman, the band seems to go from strength to strength,…

Site by OBLONG