Membership / Volunteering
Subscribe

Subscribe to our mailing list for up-to-date gig information, news and ticket offers

Pick a date
Get Involved: Membership & Volunteering
Loading Events

Mon 27 June 2016

Tue 28 June 2016

Wed 29 June 2016

Thu 30 June 2016

Tots Tunes

The very popular music sessions for parents and little ones (0-5 yr olds).  Described as “uplifting and energising” and “such a fun, high quality experience“.   These interactive, energetic sessions involve learning songs…

DUCK BAKER TRIO AND QUARTET (CD LAUNCH)

Duck Baker, guitar Alex Ward, clarinet John Edwards, bass Steve Noble, drums Fingerstyle guitar master Duck Baker returns to the Vortex with his trio/quartet, for another evening devoted to his…

Fri 01 July 2016

Sat 02 July 2016

Adam Glasser Quartet

Adam Glasser is known as leader of Township Comets which started here at the Vortex, and also as the leader of our South African jazz jam sessions. Here he leads…

Mon 04 July 2016

Tue 05 July 2016

Wed 06 July 2016

Justin Thurgur

Justin Thurgur – Trombone Graeme Flowers – Trumpet Kishon Khan – Piano/Rhodes Liran Donin – Double Bass Oreste Noda – Congas Pat Illingworth – Drums Justin Thurgur, trombonist for Bellowhead,…

Thu 07 July 2016

Tots Tunes

The very popular music sessions for parents and little ones (0-5 yr olds).  Described as “uplifting and energising” and “such a fun, high quality experience“.   These interactive, energetic sessions involve learning songs…

Simon Roth Trio

One of the best new young drummers, known for his work in Chaos Collective and in bands such as Vula Viel and Elliott Galvin Trio.

Fri 08 July 2016

Sat 09 July 2016

GRAND UNION ORCHESTRA FESTIVAL – WORKSHOP ONE

A BAND OFF THE WALL  FREE OPEN WORKSHOP 2.30-5.30, short performance in Gillett Square 6.00 We are bringing to life the large and impressive ‘Peace Mural’ opposite Dalston Junction Station,…

Sun 10 July 2016

DOWNSTAIRS: THELONIOUS

Hans Koller (Valve Trombone) Martin Speake (Alto Saxophone) Calum Gourlay (Bass) Dave Dyson (Drums) Taking inspiration from the Steve Lacy/Roswell Rudd School Days band from the early 1960s, Thelonious explore…

GRAND UNION ORCHESTRA FESTIVAL – WORKSHOP TWO

WORKSHOP IN AFRICAN DRUMMING AND CHANT 10.30-1.30, free, open to all young musicians aged 12-25 Part of the regular monthly series of masterclasses run by the Grand Union Youth Orchestra,…

Mon 11 July 2016

Ches Smith/Craig Taborn/Mat Maneri

A STELLAR NIGHT IN DALSTON….. A MUST SEE -That’s how Jazzwise has described this gig in their latest issue Ches Smith (drums, percussion, vibes), Craig Taborn (piano), Mat Maneri (viola)…

Wed 13 July 2016

Thu 14 July 2016

Tots Tunes

The very popular music sessions for parents and little ones (0-5 yr olds).  Described as “uplifting and energising” and “such a fun, high quality experience“.   These interactive, energetic sessions involve learning songs…

Sat 16 July 2016

Pepi Lemer: Back2Front

British Jazz artist Pepi Lemer performs songs from her album, Back2Front. The album is an explosive mix of Latin percussion, jazz improvisation and songs from around the world including compositions from the great…

Sun 17 July 2016

Mon 18 July 2016

Tue 19 July 2016

Thu 21 July 2016

Tots Tunes

The very popular music sessions for parents and little ones (0-5 yr olds).  Described as “uplifting and energising” and “such a fun, high quality experience“.   These interactive, energetic sessions involve learning songs…

Sat 23 July 2016

Sun 24 July 2016

John Bennett Band

A stalwart of the old Vortex, the band is now installed with a regular Sunday afternoon residency. With John’s fantastic compositions and an always exciting line-up of fine musicians this is…

Thu 28 July 2016

Tots Tunes

The very popular music sessions for parents and little ones (0-5 yr olds).  Described as “uplifting and energising” and “such a fun, high quality experience“.   These interactive, energetic sessions involve learning songs…

Sat 30 July 2016

Sun 31 July 2016

Sat 06 August 2016

Sat 13 August 2016

Sat 20 August 2016

Sat 27 August 2016

Sun 18 September 2016

Sat 08 October 2016

Malija

Mark Lockheart, Jasper Høiby, Liam Noble. Three of the great heroes of the Vortex team up to create the imaginative and enjoyable jazz that we have been led to expect…

Sun 09 October 2016

Downstairs: THELONIOUS

Hans Koller (Valve Trombone, Euphonium) Martin Speake (Alto Saxophone) Calum Gourlay (Bass) TBC (Drums) Taking inspiration from the Steve Lacy/Roswell Rudd School Days band from the early 1960s, Thelonious explore the…

Thu 13 October 2016

Tots Tunes

The very popular music sessions for parents and little ones (0-5 yr olds).  Described as “uplifting and energising” and “such a fun, high quality experience“.   These interactive, energetic sessions involve learning songs…

Sat 15 October 2016

Thu 20 October 2016

Tots Tunes

The very popular music sessions for parents and little ones (0-5 yr olds).  Described as “uplifting and energising” and “such a fun, high quality experience“.   These interactive, energetic sessions involve learning songs…

Sat 22 October 2016

Thu 27 October 2016

Tots Tunes

The very popular music sessions for parents and little ones (0-5 yr olds).  Described as “uplifting and energising” and “such a fun, high quality experience“.   These interactive, energetic sessions involve learning songs…