Become A Member. Just £100 a year Subscribe
Pick a date
Loading Events

Sat 18 August 2018

Georgia Mancio

“[Mancio] has everything covered – technical mastery, expressive range and a remarkable versatility”-The Observer 4****

Sun 19 August 2018

Fete Qua Qua (Day 1)

An annual gathering of free improvising musicians put together by guitarist John Russell Fête Quaqua aims for old friends to get together and meet new ones in the moment.

Mon 20 August 2018

Fete Qua Qua (DAY 2)

The Line Up over the next three days: Mark Browne (sax / percussion) Phil Durrant (mandolin / electronics) Max Eastley (self made instruments) Sylvia Hallett (violin / electronics) Matt Hutchinson…

Tue 21 August 2018

Fete Qua Qua (Day 3)

The Line Up over the next three days: Mark Browne (sax / percussion) Phil Durrant (mandolin / electronics) Max Eastley (self made instruments) Sylvia Hallett (violin / electronics) Matt Hutchinson…

Wed 22 August 2018

Kjetil Mulelid Trio (NO)

KMT is one of Norways most interesting jazz musicians playing modern acoustic jazz. Their music is a mixture of compositions by Mulelid and pure collective improvisations.

Thu 23 August 2018

Launch of BLUE SHEILA by Serena Braida

In Blue Sheila (dancing girl press 2018), things can be spoken into existence, or sung. People can conjure up new ways, or exhaust their voices repeating the same thing over and over again. The story of Sheila and her slow-burning emancipation is a performance score. Marcel is violent. Ava is tender and flippant. The chorus reads the news and speaks the jazz tongue. Sheila needs to cross.

Fri 24 August 2018

Sat 25 August 2018

Martin Speake’s Charukesi

Martin’s highly rhythmic groove based project influenced by Indian/ Arabic and Turkish music featuring his own compositions and those of Ramamani from Karntaka College of Percussion.

Mon 27 August 2018

Aisling Lavelle

Aisling Lavelle – Voice Rick Simpson – Piano Rob Anstey – Bass Sam Jesson – Drums Aisling is a London-based singer/songwriter with a gift for harmony, improvisation and scat. She…

Tue 28 August 2018

Phaze Theory

Phaze Theory is a London based art-rock band focused exploring the occult traditions of Britain through the poetry of Yeats and Blake particularly. Founded in 2014 by tuba player Christopher…

Wed 29 August 2018

Giulio Romano Quintet

A swinging and groovy night feauturing original music by Italian guitar player Giulio Romano as well as arrangements of legendary standard jazz tunes.

Thu 30 August 2018

Ray Carless – Windrush Jazz

Ray Carless is a talented Jamaican saxophonist whose musical career spans almost 40 years. He started started out on his musical journey working with a wide variety of pop jazz reggae funk and African bands.

Fri 31 August 2018

Sat 01 September 2018

Sun 02 September 2018

John Bennett Band

The John Bennett Band is a 15 piece jazz ensemble. The music is structured whilst also allowing for interplay between the musicians. John describes the band as not a “…

Mon 03 September 2018

Richard Fairhurst

Contemporary jazz trio led by prodigious pianist Richard Fairhurst alongside Dave Whitford and brilliant drummer Tim Giles, their music combines cerebral, lyrical improvisation with high energy grooves.

Tue 04 September 2018

Wed 05 September 2018

Thu 06 September 2018

Fri 07 September 2018

Sun 09 September 2018

Mon 10 September 2018

Warriors International Presents: Freedom

September’s monthly open-minded Freedom Improv session curated by Cleveland Watkiss, Orphy Robinson and Tori Handsley. There’s an opening short set from an ad-hoc ensemble, swiftly followed by constantly shifting sets…

Tue 11 September 2018

Matt Carmichael Quartet

‘Fast becoming one of the leading lights in Scottish Jazz’ (Tommy Smith). Matt Carmichael brings his quartet to London for the first time having just releasing their debut EP.

Fri 14 September 2018

Sun 16 September 2018

Let Spin

Showcasing music from their upcoming third record, with tunes from each member, Let Spin bring an anarchic, fiery brand of jazz/groove/improv/noise to their London home.

Tue 18 September 2018

Dimitri Howald ILJA

Swiss composer and guitarist Dimitri Howald has, with his band ILJA, created a six-headed mythical beast, a fantastic, romantic creature whose limbs reach out in all imaginable harmonic directions.

Fri 21 September 2018

Sun 23 September 2018

Tue 25 September 2018

Wed 26 September 2018

Thu 27 September 2018

Sloth Racket

Sloth Racket is a band of UK improvisers led by baritone saxophonist Cath Roberts, with Sam Andreae on alto saxophone, Anton Hunter on guitar, Seth Bennett on bass and Johnny Hunter…

Fri 28 September 2018

Sat 29 September 2018

Sun 30 September 2018

Mon 01 October 2018

Mick Foster Quartet

Led by top baritone sax player Mick Foster, the quartet play an interesting and diverse repertoire of original compositions and some well known jazz pieces.

Fri 05 October 2018

Tue 09 October 2018

Charlie Pyne Quartet Album Launch

This is the launch party for Charlie Pyne Quartet’s debut album ‘Dancing Shadows’. Expect ECM-inspired jazz with big grooves, memorable tunes and a story-telling vibe.

Fri 12 October 2018

Tim Berne/Matt Mitchell (Two Night Residency)

Berne was aptly named one of New York City’s essential jazz icons by Time Out New York, while the UK’s Jazzwise magazine underscored the growing stature of his music by declaring it“suffused with genuine humanity and more than a little wisdom.” The New York Times praised Mitchell as“a pianist of burrowing focus and an indispensable fixture of the contemporary vanguard.”

Sat 13 October 2018

Tim Berne/Matt Mitchell (Two Night Residency)

Berne was aptly named one of New York City’s essential jazz icons by Time Out New York, while the UK’s Jazzwise magazine underscored the growing stature of his music by declaring it“suffused with genuine humanity and more than a little wisdom.” The New York Times praised Mitchell as“a pianist of burrowing focus and an indispensable fixture of the contemporary vanguard.”

Site by OBLONG