Become A Member. Just £100 a year Subscribe
Pick a date
Loading Events


Emulsion is…

a celebration of the adventurous spirit & the open mind

an experiment
a group of like-minded musicians
a cross-genre new music platform
a specialised and unusual development opportunity

an evolving concept

Saxophonist and composer Trish Clowes founded Emulsion in 2012. Emulsion has hosted various events and festivals in London, Birmingham, Shrewsbury and at Cheltenham Music Festival, receiving coverage on BBC Radio 3 along the way, and to date has commissioned/premiered seventeen new works, including two BASCA-winning works.

Featured collaborators include ECM artists Food (Iain Ballamy and Thomas Strønen), pianist- composers Nikki Iles and Robert Mitchell and composers Joe Cutler and Cevanne Horrocks- Hopayian. Over the years the project has received funding from PRS for Music Foundation, Arts Council England, Musikfondene (Norway), Jerwood Charitable Foundation, Birmingham City University and its own Kickstarter backers.

Praise for Emulsion:

“an absorbing spectacle of multi-genre music that was both emotionally and technically compelling… brilliant, three-dimensional theatricality” ***** – Matthew Wright, the Arts Desk

“Humorous at times, but emotive and thought provoking at others, the performances covered a wide stylistic range, juxtaposing genres with a will… The playing from a supremely flexible ensemble of musicians was uniformly excellent throughout” – Ian Mann, The Jazzmann, review of Emulsion VI

“Top prize here goes to the Emulsion Sinfonietta careening through ‘Karembeu’: not a piece that could ever be picked apart and then built up by anyone’s dubbing machine.” – Geoff Brown, The Times (4* review of Joe Cutler’s ‘Elsewhereness’)

“Vive L’Emulsion” – Ed King, Birmingham Review

Line Up

Trish Clowes – saxophones, Louise McMonagle – cello, Lauren Weavers – oboe/cor anglais, Mandhira de Saram – violin, Nick Smart – trumpet, Max Welford – clarinets, Tim Giles – drums, Ross Stanley – piano/Hammond organ, Chris Montague – guitar, Catriona McDermid- bassoon, Misha Mullov-Abbado – bass & special guest appearance from Nikki Iles – piano

Programme includes

Awakening – Nikki Iles
Full line up

Happy Mountain – Hans Koller
Full line up

Free improvisations

Elastic Band – Trish Clowes
Full line up

Anamnesis (solo cello) – Josephine Stephenson
Solo cello

Site by OBLONG