Get Involved: Membership & Volunteering

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Sam Crowe Quintet

  • Sam Crowe Quintet

Part of the EFG London Jazz Festival

Pianist Sam Crowe has performed and recorded with some of the most highly regarded jazz musicians in the UK and US. His critically acclaimed second albumTowards The Centre Of Everything on Whirlwind Recordings, was launched at the Vortex earlier this year to a rapt audience. Tonight he’s back for a very special show.

“Crowe’s writing is complex but accessible and he exhibits a fierce musical intellect.” The Jazzmann

Sam Crowe (piano)
James Gardiner Bateman (alto sax)
Jon Harvey (electric bass)
Will Davies (guitar)
Dave Smith (drums)

As a performer, Sam has performed and recorded with some of the most highly regarded jazz musicians in the UK and US including Will Vinson, Mark Guiliana, Alan Hampton, Adam Waldmann, Jasper Hoiby, Jonathon Kreisberg, Gretchen Parlato, Julian Siegal, Phil Robson and Phil Donkin to name a few.

As a band leader, he has been widely recognized as an exciting new arrival on the UK jazz scene with his critically acclaimed debut album, Synaesthesia (F-IRE 2010), garnering extremely high praise from the press and public alike.

Towards the Center of Everything is his second solo album (and debut WWR release), featuring a set of original compositions by the leader and a true genre-mash of styles, epic colours and moods with improvisation as it’s focus, boasting a line up of literally some of the most exciting and cutting edge young improvisers in the world. Recorded in two days at the famed Systems Two Studios in NYC, the album features Crowe on Piano, Fender Rhodes & Keyboards, NYC-based Will Vinson on Alto Saxophone, the Award winning London-basedAdam Waldmann on Soprano Saxophone, rising star British guitarist Will Davies, the uber-creative Alan Hampton on both double & electric bass, one of the most in demand drummers on the planet in Mark Guiliana and special guest Emilia Martensson on vocals.


November 4, 2013
8:00 am
- 5:00 pm