Become A Member. Just £100 a year Subscribe
Pick a date
Loading Events

Fri 28 September 2018

Sat 29 September 2018

Sun 30 September 2018

Mon 01 October 2018

Mick Foster Quartet

Led by top baritone sax player Mick Foster, the quartet play an interesting and diverse repertoire of original compositions and some well known jazz pieces.

Fri 05 October 2018

Tue 09 October 2018

Charlie Pyne Quartet Album Launch

This is the launch party for Charlie Pyne Quartet’s debut album ‘Dancing Shadows’. Expect ECM-inspired jazz with big grooves, memorable tunes and a story-telling vibe.

Fri 12 October 2018

Tim Berne/Matt Mitchell (Two Night Residency)

Berne was aptly named one of New York City’s essential jazz icons by Time Out New York, while the UK’s Jazzwise magazine underscored the growing stature of his music by declaring it“suffused with genuine humanity and more than a little wisdom.” The New York Times praised Mitchell as“a pianist of burrowing focus and an indispensable fixture of the contemporary vanguard.”

Sat 13 October 2018

Tim Berne/Matt Mitchell (Two Night Residency)

Berne was aptly named one of New York City’s essential jazz icons by Time Out New York, while the UK’s Jazzwise magazine underscored the growing stature of his music by declaring it“suffused with genuine humanity and more than a little wisdom.” The New York Times praised Mitchell as“a pianist of burrowing focus and an indispensable fixture of the contemporary vanguard.”

Sun 14 October 2018

The Great Harry Hillman

The Great Harry Hillman is a Swiss post-jazz quartet, playing original compositions between jazz, rock and Improv since 2008.

Tue 16 October 2018

Thu 18 October 2018

Blow the Fuse presents: The Casimir Connection

Casimir Connection is a jazz chamber group for the modern era. Saxophonist and composer Diane McLoughlin’s new ensemble explores the boundaries between classical, folk and jazz.

Fri 19 October 2018

Fri 26 October 2018

Tue 30 October 2018

Parallel Society

This quintet from Dublin has a refreshing new sound that combines various styles such as hip-hop, classical, electronica, north Indian classical, grunge and modern jazz with powerful improvisation.

Fri 02 November 2018

Thu 08 November 2018

Fri 09 November 2018

Fri 16 November 2018

Sat 17 November 2018

Mon 19 November 2018

Tue 20 November 2018

Wed 21 November 2018

Thu 22 November 2018

Noel Langley’s EDENTIDE

Noel Langley has been at the forefront of the British music scene for nearly thirty years, enjoying a multi-faceted career as a performer, composer, arranger, arranger, producer and bandleader. Here he brings his critically acclaimed project EDENTIDE to the Vortex.

Fri 23 November 2018

Nikki Yeoh Infinitum

Since her emergence on the British Jazz Scene in the mid 90s pianist Nikki Yeoh has proved to be an improviser, composer and all-round adventurer who has continually sought to broaden her musical horizons. Here she appears with brothers Mark and Michael Mondesir.

Sat 24 November 2018

Sun 25 November 2018

Family Band – Board of Origin Album Launch

Comprising four long-term collaborators and friends (thus the ‘family’ tag), the band takes as its starting point the freewheeling music of the 1960s free jazz revolution; moments of fierce intensity, introspection and the blues all combining into an emotionally complex and often cathartic whole.

Tue 27 November 2018

Eirik Svela Group

Featuring an exciting mix of Norwegian and UK jazz musicians this band preforms original music that effortlessly combines pretty melodies and complicated chord changes.

Fri 30 November 2018

Babelfish

Co-led by Brigitte Beraha & Barry Green and featuring legends Chris Laurence & Paul Clarvis, this ‘remarkable quartet’ play the final concert of their much-anticipated 20-date 2018 UK tour.

Tue 04 December 2018

Fri 07 December 2018

Fri 14 December 2018

Sat 15 December 2018

Barb Jungr’s Festive Feelings

Internationally acclaimed singer in the worlds of jazz and cabaret, Barb Jungr is renowned for her unique vocal style, interpretation of well-known songs, and highly skilled approach to re-arranging music.

Sun 16 December 2018

Andrew Linham Jazz Orchestra

Presenting a new “Christ-Mess Extravaganza” alongside their successful first album ‘Weapons of Mass Distraction’, this is contemporary big band originals genre swinging into the future of jazz.

Fri 21 December 2018

Fri 28 December 2018

Site by OBLONG