Become A Member
Subscribe

Subscribe to our mailing list for up-to-date gig information, news and ticket offers

Pick a date
Just announced! Uri Caine solo + Nautilus on 1 November. An intimate concert by a great pianist
Loading Events

Sat 21 October 2017

Carol Grimes

The return of the mistressful Carol Grimes, one of our favourite vocalists, with a band featuring Annie Whitehead, trombone. Carol’s repertoire is always insightful and her repartee and charisma second…

Fri 20 October 2017

Monica Vasconcelos – The Sao Paulo Tapes

Exclusive London album launch! Monica Vasconcelos’ interpretations of compositions written by some of Brazil’s greatest “songpoets”, including Aldir Blanc, Chico Buarque, Ivan Lins and Caetano Veloso, responding to the era of the era of military dictatorship.

Big Bad Wolf

After Lunch is a brand new series of great music specially programmed for charities / voluntary organisations / schools /etc to bring their clients, participants and staff along to. The…

Thu 19 October 2017

Evan Parker, Mat Maneri, Lucian Ban

Evan Parker invites Lucian Ban and Mat Maneri to join him for his monthly series. This gig celebrates the launch of a new album, under Mat’s name, Sounding Tears (Clean…

Wed 18 October 2017

Tue 17 October 2017

Helena Kay’s Kim Trio

KIM Trio Helena Kay – tenor saxophone Ferg Ireland – double bass David Ingamells – drums KIM Trio is led by tenor saxophonist Helena Kay (Young Scottish Jazz Musician of…

Mon 16 October 2017

Calum Gourlay Big Band

Our monthly residency continues for a big band initiated by bassist Calum Gourlay, known for his great work with Thelonious, an award-winning solo album and more. “I want it to…

Sun 15 October 2017

Oded Tzur Quartet

Oded Tzur is a New York City based saxophonist, composer and bandleader. His work explores fundamental connections between different musical traditions and draws influence from the art of storytelling. Tzur…

MOPOMOSO ‘THE AFTERNOON SESSIONS’ PRESENT…

YVES CHARUEST (SAX) / DOMINIC LASH (BASS) duo + MATT HUTCHINSON (piano) solo + SUE FERRAR (violin) / KEN IKEDA (electronics) / JOHN RUSSELL (guitar) trio THE MUSICIANS Montreal based…

Sat 14 October 2017

Mario Laginha, Julian Argüelles, Helge Andreas Norbakken

Laginha Argüelles Norbakken Portuguese pianist Mário Laginha, English saxophonist Julian Argüelles and Norwegian percussionist Helge Andreas Norbakken are amongst Europe’s strongest musical personalities. They combine gently propulsive grooves, complex but…

Fri 13 October 2017

Fletch’s Brew

Led by one of our favourite drummers, Mark Fletcher,  Fletch’s Brew makes a rare appearance outside Ronnie Scott’s where they play weekly. With a real superstar line-up. The band plays…

Thu 12 October 2017

Wed 11 October 2017

Space Cake Jazz Band

Drums :Goaty Keyboard : Michael Born Trumpet : Tom Spencer Sax :Roger Crosdale Bass : Frederico Frederico leads his Space Cake Band in a combination of funky standards from the…

Tue 10 October 2017

Mon 09 October 2017

Sun 08 October 2017

De Beren Gieren

This is one of the leading new European piano trios, from Belgium. We are fortunate that they will play at the Vortex as part of a short UK tour. The…

Thelonious

Hans Koller (Valve Trombone, Euphonium) Martin Speake (Alto Saxophone) Calum Gourlay (Bass) TBC (Drums) Taking inspiration from the Steve Lacy/Roswell Rudd School Days band from the early 1960s, Thelonious explore the…

London Jazz Orchestra

London’s longest running jazz residency continues as the LJO opens its new season at the Vortex Jazz. The LJO continues to set the standard in modern jazz, with great ensemble…

Sat 07 October 2017

Emily Wolf & Friends

London & NYC based Singer Songwriter. “Eclectic mix of Vocal genres, Neo Soul, R&B, Jazz and Reggae” Merging Soul, Pop and Jazz Sounds, Wolf was from an early age influenced…

Fri 06 October 2017

Dialektos – Maria Pia de Vito and Huw Warren

Dialektos is the remarkable musical encounter between Italian vocalist Maria Pia De Vito and Welsh pianist Huw Warren and includes their own compositions, settings of Neapolitan poems and Brazilian songs.…

Thu 05 October 2017

Mark Pringle

Andersson/Pringle/Lopez/Pereira is an imaginative quartet of young European improvisers, coming to the UK via Berlin-based pianist Mark Pringle.

Wed 04 October 2017

Dave Liebman/Richie Beirach

Two of the jazz’s foremost exponents of their instruments (and good friends going right back to the 70s when they played in the band Lookout Farm). Dave Liebman on saxes,…

Tue 03 October 2017

Mon 02 October 2017

Hyelim Kim & Alice Zawadzki

The K-Music festival has been proud to commission some major collaborations, and this one is really special. Hyelim Kim, a superb taegum (bamboo flute) player, has played with Nils Frahm and…

Sun 01 October 2017

Sat 30 September 2017

Fri 29 September 2017

ITC

Orphy Robinson Trio

After Lunch is a brand new series of great music specially programmed for charities / voluntary organisations / schools /etc to bring their clients, participants and staff along to. The…

Thu 28 September 2017

Wed 27 September 2017

Tue 26 September 2017

Örjan Hultén Orion

Örjan Hultén – soprano and tenor saxophone Torbjörn Gulz – piano Filip Augustson – bass Peter Danemo – drums   Örjan Hultén, one of Sweden’s foremost saxophonists and improvisers, is…

Mon 25 September 2017

Sun 24 September 2017

Sat 23 September 2017

JOHN ETHERIDGE’S BlUE SPIRITS TRIO

Led by guitar legend John Etheridge, the Blue Spirits Trio includes Pete Whittaker (organ) & Nic France (drums) Drawing on a vast reservoir of musical experience spanning 43 years ,Etheridge…

Fri 22 September 2017

CLARK TRACY: Tribute to Stan Tracey’s Hexad

Celebrating Stan Tracey’s 90th, a crucial pivot in the UK jazz scene from the 60s onwards and for many years a regular at the Vortex. “The Godfather of British Jazz”.…

Thu 21 September 2017

Evan Parker, Iain Ballamy, Tony Hymas

For Evan Parker’s regular night at the Vortex, he invites saxophonist Iain Ballamy and pianist Tony Hymas. Both of them are not known so much for their ability to play…

Wed 20 September 2017

Site by OBLONG