Become A Member. Just £100 a year Subscribe
Pick a date
Loading Events

Sun 19 August 2018

Fete Qua Qua (Day 1)

An annual gathering of free improvising musicians put together by guitarist John Russell Fête Quaqua aims for old friends to get together and meet new ones in the moment.

Sat 18 August 2018

Georgia Mancio

“[Mancio] has everything covered – technical mastery, expressive range and a remarkable versatility”-The Observer 4****

Fri 17 August 2018

Fletch’s Brew

Fletch’s Brew retains a commitment to spontaneity whether playing original compositions or new arrangements from across the jazz cannon, the band’s style floats seamlessly between the idioms of fusion, funk, bop, reggae and rock.

Thu 16 August 2018

Wed 15 August 2018

Alice Leggett Quartet

The Alice Leggett Quartet features established, London based musicians; Rick Simpson, Calum Gourlay and Will Glaser. They’ll be performing Alice’s compositions and arrangements.

Tue 14 August 2018

Mon 13 August 2018

Warriors International Present Freedom

The core team consists of Orphy Robinson, Cleveland Watkiss, Tori Handsley and Paul Bradshaw who are joined by an array of guests. You never know who’s going to drop in. In…

Sat 11 August 2018

Henry Lowther’s Still Waters

Henry Lowther – Trumpet and flugelhorn Pete Hurt – Tenor saxophone Barry Green – Piano Steve Watts – Bass Paul Clarvis – Drums Henry Lowther’s Still Waters was born out…

Fri 10 August 2018

Thu 09 August 2018

Nim Quartet

‘NIM QUARTET’ is the project of London based bass player Nim Sadot who conjures up a magical mix of instrumental fusion jazz.

Wed 08 August 2018

Serendip

Serendip is a project led by Arnaud Guichard and explores the meaning of Serendipity through jazz.

Tue 07 August 2018

Olli Martin Quintet

The Olli Martin Quintet perform original compositions containing strong melodies and catchy grooves that draw upon on a wide range of influences and styles.

Mon 06 August 2018

Veryan Weston’s : As You Hear

Malaysian violinist – Pei AnnYeoh, pianist – Veryan Weston and multi-percussionist – Bei Bei wang meet to perform contemporary improvisations reflecting their broad cultural origins

Sun 05 August 2018

Jonny Mansfield Quintet

The Jonny Mansfield Quintet brings musicians together from all over Europe – Spain, Denmark, France and the UK. Expect a night of intricate compositions and exciting improvisations.

Sat 04 August 2018

In The Moment…

An immersive mix of afro-latin music and dance, fused with House, Funk, Reggae & Hip Hop.

Grand Union Orchestra – Open Workshop

Practical hands-on workshop exploring the musical and religious tradition of Candomblé (West African Yoruba culture as practised in Northeast Brazil), for reasonably able musicians of all ages, led by Ricardo…

Fri 03 August 2018

GRAND UNION ORCHESTRA – TRADING ROOTS

Featuring Candomblé expert Ricardo Axé (singer/dancer/drummer), South African trumpeter Claude Deppa and Latin percussionist Carlo Fuentes – the last in a series of monthly Friday night performances with outstanding improvising…

Tue 31 July 2018

JM y Juanin: Los Cracks del Puerto

These gentlemen are the real deal, 75 and 83 years old, they are the historic legacy of the boleros and vals peruanos in Chile, our buena vista … great performers.…

Mon 30 July 2018

Barford/ Hitchcock/ Ireland/ Maddren

Rising star tenor saxophonists Tom Barford and Alex Hitchcock are joined by a powerhouse rhythm section of Ferg Ireland (bass) and James Maddren (drums).

Sat 28 July 2018

Carol Grimes – CANCELLED DUE TO ILLNESS

Carol Grimes – Voice Annie Whitehead – Trombone Jessica Lauren – Keyboards Winston Clifford – Drums Alison Rayner – Double Bass   Grimes has a fascinating story to tell. She…

Fri 27 July 2018

Thu 26 July 2018

Maurizio Grondona Group

Refined, soulful, captivating…these are a few words fans use to describe the inspired contemporary jazz group from Bari, Italy.

Tue 24 July 2018

Bruno Heinen Quintet

Bruno Heinen’s forward-looking quintet featuring James Copus and Rachael Cohen – “eclectic, eccentric, and unobtrusively erudite” – Guardian

Mon 23 July 2018

Perpetual Motion Machine

Steadily building a following as it travels around the UK, The Perpetual Motion Machine blends improvisational rock with jazz, surrounding listeners with its stereoscopic twin guitar/twin tenor sound.

Sun 22 July 2018

Tom Ridout Quintet

The Quintet play a mix of originals and arrangements by Tom, including tracks from his debut album “No Excuses” which launched to a sell-out crowd at the Vortex in January.

Sat 21 July 2018

John Etheridge and Vimala Rowe

Legendary English guitarist brings sensational new vocal star Vimala Rowe to the Vortex for an evening of passion and soul. John will play some of his celebrated solo set and…

Fri 20 July 2018

Sorin Zlat Trio-“The Land of Dreams”

Virtuoso pianist Sorin Zlat returns to Vortex with Mikele Montolli on double bass and Andy Trim on drums. The trio will present in the concert new composition that will be on the new released cd.

Wed 18 July 2018

JEAN-MICHEL BLAIS: DANS MA MAIN (extra night)

Jean-Michel Blais Dans ma main   Dans ma main, the sophomore release by pianist and composer Jean-Michel Blais, is an expansive album of post-classical piano with strands of electronic detail.…

Tue 17 July 2018

Jean-Michel Blais: Dans ma main

Jean-Michel Blais Dans ma main Dans ma main, the sophomore release by pianist and composer Jean-Michel Blais, is an expansive album of post-classical piano with strands of electronic detail. Blending…

Mon 16 July 2018

Sun 15 July 2018

Sat 14 July 2018

Ian Shaw

Long-time Vortex favourite Ian Shaw returns to the club with his inimitable solo show sizzling with wit and dazzling with new songs from his album Shine Sister Shine alongside old gems.

Fri 13 July 2018

Howard Riley, Barry Guy, Lucas Niggli TRIO

Howard Riley (piano) Barry Guy (double bass) Lucas Niggli (drums) The working association of Howard Riley with Barry Guy started back in the 1960s. It may be relatively little known,…

Thu 12 July 2018

Evan Parker – Barry Guy Duo

Two long time collaborators and friends… Evan Parker Evan Parker returns for his monthly residency at the club. A major force in European improvising, Parker has collaborated with everyone from Cecil Taylor,…

Wed 11 July 2018

Helena Kay’s KIM Trio

Award-winning saxophonist Helena Kay brings her trio back to the Vortex for a night of original music, featuring David Ingamells on drums and Ferg Ireland on double bass

Mon 09 July 2018

WARRIORS INTERNATIONAL PRESENT FREEDOM

The core team consists of Orphy Robinson, Cleveland Watkiss, Tori Handsley and Paul Bradshaw who are joined by an array of guests. You never know who’s going to drop in. In…

Sat 07 July 2018

GRAND UNION ORCHESTRA – TRADING ROOTS WORKSHOP

Bring along an instrument and join gu zheng (Chinese harp) virtuoso Zhu Xiao Meng in a practical workshop exploring folk and classical Chinese music in relation to the Western tradition, jazz and improvisation. Admission Free.

Fri 06 July 2018

Grand Union Orchestra – Trading Roots

Zhu Xiao Meng (gu zheng – Chinese harp), Ruijun Hu (dizi, xiao – Chinese flutes)   Featuring gu zheng (Chinese harp) virtuoso Zhu Xiao Meng and Ruijun Hu on dizi…

Thu 05 July 2018

The Afrocentrics

Electric bassist Emmanuel Adeniran and his band The Afrocentrics play the sounds and rhythms of the African diasporas taking in jazz, funk, afrobeat, salsa, reggae and adding a modern twist.

Wed 04 July 2018

Tue 03 July 2018

AARON PARKS & LITTLE BIG (2nd-NIGHT)

Little Big, the new band from pianist/composer Aaron Parks, could in some ways be seen as a continuation of the trajectory set on his 2008 record “Invisible Cinema,” with a deeper commitment to melodic songwriting, modern rhythms, and immersive storytelling.

Site by OBLONG