DONATE Subscribe
Pick a date
Loading Events

Anton Hunter: Article 11

Anton Hunter

Commissioned by Manchester Jazz Festival & never before performed in London, Article 11 is an hour-long suite for a specially put-together international 11-piece band, composed by guitarist Anton Hunter.

Article 11
Anton Hunter – guitar
Johnny Hunter – drums
Eero Tikkanen – double bass (Finland)

Mette Rasmussen – alto sax (Norway)
Sam Andreae – tenor sax
Simon Prince – tenor sax + flute
Cath Roberts – baritone sax

Graham South – trumpet + flugelhorn
Nick Walters – trumpet
Seth Bennett – trombone
Richard Foote – trombone

Anton Hunter is a guitarist living in Manchester and performing with the likes of Beats & Pieces Big Band, his own trio and “Beck Hunters” – a trio with brother Johnny on drums and saxophonist Mick Beck.

The 11-piece ensemble features a wide range of up and coming improvisers from across Europe, including Trio Riot’s Sam Andreae and Mette Rasmussen on saxophones and Finnish bass player Eero Tikkanen from punk-jazz trio Mopo. The finished suite will further explore and blur the boundaries between the composed and improvised, with some strong melodic sections that still leave room for the individual musicians to shape the performance in real-time.


Site by OBLONG