DONATE Subscribe
Pick a date
Loading Events

Josephine Davies’ Enso Ensemble

Doors 3 PM, Music 3:30 PM – 2 set(s) of music



Josephine Davies – Conductor

Alcyona Mick – Piano

Dave Whitford – Bass

Shane Forbes – Drums

Mike Chillingworth – Alto/Soprano Saxophones

Rachael Cohen – Alto Saxophone

Alec Harper – Tenor Saxophone

Adam Bishop – Tenor Saxophone/Flute/Clarinet

Tamar Osborn – Baritone / Bass Clarinet

Anna Drysdale – French Horn

Olli Martin, Tom White – Trombone

Eddie Curtis – Bass Trombone

Noel Langley, Nick Smart, Josh Short, Robbie Robson – Trumpet



Award winning saxophonist and composer Josephine Davies brings her 17 piece jazz orchestra to the Vortex for the second time. She has been writing for large ensembles for the past 15 years, beginning during her residency as tenor saxophonist in the London Jazz Orchestra. This was an opportunity for her to experiment with ideas and sounds, and eventually begin her own ensemble.

Deeply inspired by a range of composers from Vince Mendoza to Stravinsky, Josephine’s writing focuses on flowing melodies, rich harmonies and creative use of instrumental textures. This afternoon’s concert features the suite she wrote during lockdown – a series of 8 pieces representing the 8 parts of the Celtic Wheel of the Year, bringing a much needed celebration of nature, connection, and renewal to our fragmented times.

The Ensō circle is a Zen Buddhist symbol, traditionally drawn in a single brushstroke as a meditative practice celebrating the beauty of incompletion and imperfection, and the polarity of movement and stillness. It is an inspirational tool for Josephine as she plays with the balance of written music and space for improvisation.

“Definitely a band to watch.” ★★★★ 1/2 Downbeat Magazine – Satori


Site by OBLONG