Become A Member. Just £100 a year Subscribe
Pick a date
Loading Events

Vortex Jazz Club

+ Google Map
11 Gillett Square
London, N16 8AZ
020 7254 4097
Next Page

Tue 18 September 2018

Dimitri Howald ILJA

Swiss composer and guitarist Dimitri Howald has, with his band ILJA, created a six-headed mythical beast, a fantastic, romantic creature whose limbs reach out in all imaginable harmonic directions.

Wed 19 September 2018

Nikki Yeoh Solo Gemini

Since her emergence on the British jazz scene in the mid 90s pianist Nikki Yeoh has proved to be an improviser, composer and all-round adventurer who has continually sought to broaden…

Thu 20 September 2018

Evan Parker – Trance Map & Tom Wheatley

Evan and Matt met in 2008 and out of their first studio sessions developed Trance Map, an album of over an hour long that mixes field recordings, samples from cassettes, turntable scratching and the live processing of Evan’s relentlessly evolving saxophone lines.

Fri 21 September 2018

Sat 22 September 2018

Sun 23 September 2018

Mon 24 September 2018

The Shape of Jazz To Come Presents… FORJ and NIMA

Two bands NIMA and Forj. High octane grooves and expansive improvisation from ‘Forj’, a quartet led by Scottish drummer Jonathan Silk. Following a sold-out show at Edinburgh Jazz Festival, Nima bring their eclectic influences drawing inspiration from everywhere: jazz, soul, bluegrass and all types of world music.

Tue 25 September 2018

Wed 26 September 2018

Thu 27 September 2018

Sloth Racket

Sloth Racket is a band of UK improvisers led by baritone saxophonist Cath Roberts, with Sam Andreae on alto saxophone, Anton Hunter on guitar, Seth Bennett on bass and Johnny Hunter…

Fri 28 September 2018

Sat 29 September 2018

Sun 30 September 2018

Mon 01 October 2018

Mick Foster Quartet

Led by top baritone sax player Mick Foster, the quartet play an interesting and diverse repertoire of original compositions and some well known jazz pieces.

Tue 02 October 2018

Wed 03 October 2018

Thu 04 October 2018

Fri 05 October 2018

Sat 06 October 2018

Sun 07 October 2018

Mon 08 October 2018

Tue 09 October 2018

Charlie Pyne Quartet Album Launch

This is the launch party for Charlie Pyne Quartet’s debut album ‘Dancing Shadows’. Expect ECM-inspired jazz with big grooves, memorable tunes and a story-telling vibe.

Wed 10 October 2018

Chris Batchelor’s Zoetic

Zoetic Zoetic is a new London based group of very experienced improvising musicians. Chris Batchelor, John Paricelli and Steve Watts were all members of influential British big band Loose Tubes…

Fri 12 October 2018

Tim Berne/Matt Mitchell (Two Night Residency)

Berne was aptly named one of New York City’s essential jazz icons by Time Out New York, while the UK’s Jazzwise magazine underscored the growing stature of his music by declaring it“suffused with genuine humanity and more than a little wisdom.” The New York Times praised Mitchell as“a pianist of burrowing focus and an indispensable fixture of the contemporary vanguard.”

Sat 13 October 2018

Tim Berne/Matt Mitchell (Two Night Residency)

Berne was aptly named one of New York City’s essential jazz icons by Time Out New York, while the UK’s Jazzwise magazine underscored the growing stature of his music by declaring it“suffused with genuine humanity and more than a little wisdom.” The New York Times praised Mitchell as“a pianist of burrowing focus and an indispensable fixture of the contemporary vanguard.”

Sun 14 October 2018

Mon 15 October 2018

Calum Gourlay Big Band

Our monthly residency continues for a big band initiated by bassist Calum Gourlay, known for his great work with Thelonious, an award-winning solo album and more. “I want it to…

Tue 16 October 2018

Tue 18 September 2018

Dimitri Howald ILJA

Swiss composer and guitarist Dimitri Howald has, with his band ILJA, created a six-headed mythical beast, a fantastic, romantic creature whose limbs reach out in all imaginable harmonic directions.

Mon 17 September 2018

Calum Gourlay Big Band

Our monthly residency continues for a big band initiated by bassist Calum Gourlay, known for his great work with Thelonious, an award-winning solo album and more. “I want it to…

Sun 16 September 2018

Let Spin

Showcasing music from their upcoming third record, with tunes from each member, Let Spin bring an anarchic, fiery brand of jazz/groove/improv/noise to their London home.

MOPOMOSO Presents… The Afternoon Sessions

John Russell continues to host the UK’s longest running concert series dedicated to freely improvised music. This month’s line up includes: PHIL DURRANT / MARTIN VISHNICK duo; CATH ROBERTS / ALEX WARD duo; and a trio ‘LUST ROLLERS’ with MARK BROWNE / DAN GREGORY, plus special guest IAN MCGOWAN.

Sat 15 September 2018

Fri 14 September 2018

Thu 13 September 2018

Stephen Edwards Band

Stephen Edwards, London, Notting Hill born & bread arranger composer with Caribbean roots celebrates music by Coltrane, Monk, Lacy and his own work!

Wed 12 September 2018

Rob Brockway’s Birthday Gig

A celebratory evening of jazz standards (with the odd left turn thrown in) with pianist Rob Brockway and some surprise guests.

Tue 11 September 2018

Matt Carmichael Quartet

‘Fast becoming one of the leading lights in Scottish Jazz’ (Tommy Smith). Matt Carmichael brings his quartet to London for the first time having just releasing their debut EP.

Mon 10 September 2018

Warriors International Presents: Freedom

September’s monthly open-minded Freedom Improv session curated by Cleveland Watkiss, Orphy Robinson and Tori Handsley. There’s an opening short set from an ad-hoc ensemble, swiftly followed by constantly shifting sets…

Sun 09 September 2018

Sat 08 September 2018

Steve Buckley/Gene Calderazzo/Steve Watts

Three of the UK’s finest jazz musicians come together to perform a vibrant mix of free-wheeling classic jazz standards, inspired by and reminiscent of the great Sonny Rollins’ trio. Steve is joined by Steve Watts on bass and Gene Calderazzo on drums.

Fri 07 September 2018

Tony Kofi and The Organisation

Always a pleasure to have perform at the Vortex, Tony’s mesmerising style and natural flair give pleasure and joy to us all. The origins of the Organisation go back a over…

Thu 06 September 2018

Wed 05 September 2018

Tue 04 September 2018

Anders Helmerson

The Quantum House Project, jazz/fusion project by Anders Helmerson Trio

Mon 03 September 2018

Richard Fairhurst

Contemporary jazz trio led by prodigious pianist Richard Fairhurst alongside Dave Whitford and brilliant drummer Tim Giles, their music combines cerebral, lyrical improvisation with high energy grooves.

Sun 02 September 2018

John Bennett Band

The John Bennett Band is a 15 piece jazz ensemble. The music is structured whilst also allowing for interplay between the musicians. John describes the band as not a “…

Sat 01 September 2018

Fri 31 August 2018

Thu 30 August 2018

Ray Carless – Windrush Jazz

Ray Carless is a talented Jamaican saxophonist whose musical career spans almost 40 years. He started started out on his musical journey working with a wide variety of pop jazz reggae funk and African bands.

Wed 29 August 2018

Giulio Romano Quintet

A swinging and groovy night feauturing original music by Italian guitar player Giulio Romano as well as arrangements of legendary standard jazz tunes.

Tue 28 August 2018

Phaze Theory

Phaze Theory is a London based art-rock band focused exploring the occult traditions of Britain through the poetry of Yeats and Blake particularly. Founded in 2014 by tuba player Christopher…

Mon 27 August 2018

Aisling Lavelle

Aisling Lavelle – Voice Rick Simpson – Piano Rob Anstey – Bass Sam Jesson – Drums Aisling is a London-based singer/songwriter with a gift for harmony, improvisation and scat. She…

Sun 26 August 2018

Sat 25 August 2018

Martin Speake’s Charukesi

Martin’s highly rhythmic groove based project influenced by Indian/ Arabic and Turkish music featuring his own compositions and those of Ramamani from Karntaka College of Percussion.

Fri 24 August 2018

Thu 23 August 2018

Launch of BLUE SHEILA by Serena Braida

In Blue Sheila (dancing girl press 2018), things can be spoken into existence, or sung. People can conjure up new ways, or exhaust their voices repeating the same thing over and over again. The story of Sheila and her slow-burning emancipation is a performance score. Marcel is violent. Ava is tender and flippant. The chorus reads the news and speaks the jazz tongue. Sheila needs to cross.

Wed 22 August 2018

Kjetil Mulelid Trio (NO)

KMT is one of Norways most interesting jazz musicians playing modern acoustic jazz. Their music is a mixture of compositions by Mulelid and pure collective improvisations.

Site by OBLONG