Become A Member. Just £100 a year Subscribe
Pick a date
Loading Events

Vortex Jazz Club

+ Google Map
11 Gillett Square
London, N16 8AZ
020 7254 4097
Next Page

Thu 21 June 2018

Fri 22 June 2018

Fini Bearman & Tom Hewson’s Midnight’s Children

Singer/composer Fini Bearman- ‘unsurpassed beauty’ (Jazzwise), and pianist/composer Tom Hewson – ‘exhilarating’ (Jazzwise) present songs inspired by Salman Rushdie’s book, Midnight’s Children.

Sat 23 June 2018

Enzo Zirilli Zirobop

Led by Italian drummer Enzo Zirilli, he has put together a band which includes Rob Luft and Misha Mullov-Abbado, two of our great rising stars and second guitarist Alessandro Chiapetta. A band of energy and pleasure, keen to both challenge and entertain.

Sun 24 June 2018

Tue 26 June 2018

Loz Speyer’s Inner Space

This summer Inner Space take their album “Life on the Edge”, together with new collectively composed music, on an 11 date Arts Council funded tour, finishing at the Vortex.

Wed 27 June 2018

Speckles Brass + Alexander Hawkins

Free-Improvising ensemble Speckles Brass collaborate with master pianist Alexander Hawkins; expect a wild diversity of sounds and fiery expression.

Thu 28 June 2018

Cameron Pierre

A stalwart of the British jazz scene since the 80s, Pierre has been Saxophonist Courtney Pine’s guitarist for 25yrs. With 6 solo recordings to his name he continues to forge his own path.

Sat 30 June 2018

Mon 02 July 2018

AARON PARKS & LITTLE BIG (2-NIGHT RESIDENCY)

Little Big, the new band from pianist/composer Aaron Parks, could in some ways be seen as a continuation of the trajectory set on his 2008 record “Invisible Cinema,” with a deeper commitment to melodic songwriting, modern rhythms, and immersive storytelling.

Tue 03 July 2018

AARON PARKS & LITTLE BIG (2nd-NIGHT)

Little Big, the new band from pianist/composer Aaron Parks, could in some ways be seen as a continuation of the trajectory set on his 2008 record “Invisible Cinema,” with a deeper commitment to melodic songwriting, modern rhythms, and immersive storytelling.

Wed 04 July 2018

Thu 05 July 2018

The Afrocentrics

Electric bassist Emmanuel Adeniran and his band The Afrocentrics play the sounds and rhythms of the African diasporas taking in jazz, funk, afrobeat, salsa, reggae and adding a modern twist.

Fri 06 July 2018

Sat 07 July 2018

GRAND UNION ORCHESTRA – TRADING ROOTS WORKSHOP

Bring along an instrument and join gu zheng (Chinese harp) virtuoso Zhu Xiao Meng in a practical workshop exploring folk and classical Chinese music in relation to the Western tradition, jazz and improvisation. Admission Free.

Mon 09 July 2018

Wed 11 July 2018

Helena Kay’s KIM Trio

Award-winning saxophonist Helena Kay brings her trio back to the Vortex for a night of original music, featuring David Ingamells on drums and Ferg Ireland on double bass

Thu 12 July 2018

Evan Parker – Barry Guy Duo

Two long time collaborators and friends… Evan Parker Evan Parker returns for his monthly residency at the club. A major force in European improvising, Parker has collaborated with everyone from Cecil Taylor,…

Fri 13 July 2018

Sat 14 July 2018

Ian Shaw

Long-time Vortex favourite Ian Shaw returns to the club with his inimitable solo show sizzling with wit and dazzling with new songs from his album Shine Sister Shine alongside old gems.

Sun 15 July 2018

Mon 16 July 2018

Tue 17 July 2018

Jean-Michel Blais: Dans ma main

Jean-Michel Blais Dans ma main Dans ma main, the sophomore release by pianist and composer Jean-Michel Blais, is an expansive album of post-classical piano with strands of electronic detail. Blending…

Fri 20 July 2018

Sun 22 July 2018

Tom Ridout Quintet

The Quintet play a mix of originals and arrangements by Tom, including tracks from his debut album “No Excuses” which launched to a sell-out crowd at the Vortex in January.

Mon 23 July 2018

Perpetual Motion Machine

Steadily building a following as it travels around the UK, The Perpetual Motion Machine blends improvisational rock with jazz, surrounding listeners with its stereoscopic twin guitar/twin tenor sound.

Thu 26 July 2018

Maurizio Grondona Group

Refined, soulful, captivating…these are a few words fans use to describe the inspired contemporary jazz group from Bari, Italy.

Fri 27 July 2018

Tue 31 July 2018

JM y Juanin: Los Cracks del Puerto

These gentlemen are the real deal, 75 and 83 years old, they are the historic legacy of the boleros and vals peruanos in Chile, our buena vista … great performers.…

Thu 21 June 2018

Wed 20 June 2018

Tue 19 June 2018

Mon 18 June 2018

Calum Gourlay’s Big Band Residency

Bassist Calum Gourlay’s big band is a band of energy and joy, having developed over the course of over a year at the Vortex. He brings stunning arrangements and a…

Sun 17 June 2018

Dugong

Dugong’s compositions have lyricism at their heart, intertwined with pulsating grooves and epic riffs. An Italian group full of imagination, including bassist Andrea di Biase.

Sat 16 June 2018

Fri 15 June 2018

Inspiration – Alina Bzhezhinska Quartet

Harpist Alina Bzhezhinska leads a quartet including Tony Kofi, which investigates the spiritual and creative work of Alice Coltrane, a musician who developed the work of John Coltrane, after the death of her husband. Its performances have all been received as very special, so it’s a privilege that she is hosting the album launch at the Vortex.

Thu 14 June 2018

Wed 13 June 2018

Talinka

Talinka transcends beyond musical boundaries and creates a natural continuum between ethnic, jazz, tango, folk and early music. The outcome is a natural breathing, deep and spacious sonic adventure.

Tue 12 June 2018

Local Yokels

Jay Davis’s Local Yokels is formed from an inquisitiveness about people, where they come from and how this affects their personalities and lives in general. Compositions include pieces using melodies overheard being hummed by strangers in the street, a robotic construction from a laptop and a three year olds’ piano improvisation.

Mon 11 June 2018

WARRIORS INTERNATIONAL PRESENT FREEDOM

Voted by the Evening Standard one of the Top 6 Uk jam sessions. Led by Orphy Robinson, Cleveland Watkiss, Tori Handsley, and with Paul Bradshaw spinning great sounds.
 

Sun 10 June 2018

John Russell and Thurston Moore (A Fundraiser for the Vortex)

The Vortex Jazz Club is delighted to present our second in a series of fundraisers. We would like to thank Thurston Moore and John Russell for laying on this very special concert and donating all the proceeds to help the club. 

London Jazz Orchestra

The LJO finish their 2017-18 season at the Vortex with an up-close-and-personal performance featuring a host of great soloists including Henry Lowther, Martin Speake, Pete Hurt, Tori Freestone and others.

Sat 09 June 2018

Fri 08 June 2018

Thu 07 June 2018

Siv Øyunn Kjenstad / Kit Downes + Tom Challenger

Siv Øyunn Kjenstad – celebrated singer and percussionist from Norway – meets UK pianist organist and composer Kit Downes. Both will play solo, with a collaborative set at the end of the concert.

Wed 06 June 2018

Tue 05 June 2018

Onyx Brass and Jason Rebello

A new crossover project featuring music by Kenny Wheeler, Gwilym Simcock, Trish Clowes, and more. The first set will be of a group led by Jason Rebello, one of the greatest imaginative pianists that anyone could want to hear.

Mon 04 June 2018

Paul Clarvis / Liam Noble Duo

Piano and drums duo tackle, with joy and bezazz, Leonard Bernstein, Paul Simon and more, moving between rambunctious abandon and pointillistic pianissimos, deep grooves to pastel soundscapes. For the second half, they will be joined by trumpeter Chris Batchelor.

Sun 03 June 2018

Royal Academy of Music Final Recitals

A chance to hear the stars of tomorrow, as they undertake their final recital. Schedule 15:35 – Thomas Smith (Sax) 16:40 – Robin Porter (Sax) 17:45 – Daniel Smith (Sax) 18:50 – Christopher Williams…

Sat 02 June 2018

Zhenya Strigalev: 2 trumpets and 2 alto boxes

Zhenya Strigalev, with a mesmerising tone and technique on alto sax, bids farewell to London with a line-up of friends that is truly awe-inspiring and will give us great pleasure. It includes Tom Harrison sharing with Zhenya on his ‘alto box’, but also Seb Rochford, one of our greatest drummers, Chris Batchelor (trumpeter wtih Pigfoot) and more. Not to be missed.

Fri 01 June 2018

Grand Union Orchestra – Trading Roots

Featuring steel pan virtuoso Daniel Louis (St Lucia), South African trumpeter Claude Deppa and Latin percussionist Carlos Fuentes, second in a series of monthly Friday night performances with outstanding improvising…

Thu 31 May 2018

Liran Donin’s 1000 Boats Album Launch

Celebrating album launch of acclaimed Israeli bass player, composer, producer. Donin brings bass to the forefront with distinctive powerhouse grooving and song structures backed by high energy band

Wed 30 May 2018

Sean Gibbs’ Fervour

Trumpeter Sean Gibbs leads a 5 piece playing original music, interweaving jazz with influences from blues, rock and more.

Mon 28 May 2018

Sun 27 May 2018

Vula Viel

Vula Viel is a unique sound and music based around the Dagaare Gyil, or xylophone from Upper West Ghana.

Sat 26 May 2018

Fri 25 May 2018

Thu 24 May 2018

Site by OBLONG