BECOME A MEMBER
Subscribe

Subscribe to our mailing list for up-to-date gig information, news and ticket offers

Pick a date
Loading Events

Vortex Jazz Club

+ Google Map
11 Gillett Square
London, N16 8AZ
020 7254 4097
Next Page

Mon 28 August 2017

Tue 29 August 2017

Wed 30 August 2017

Thomas/Orrell/Lash

The trio debut of three of Oxford and Bristol’s most exciting improvisers (Pat Thomas, Dom Lash and Tony Orrell). The musical relationships between these three musicians are hugely varied and…

Thu 31 August 2017

Fri 01 September 2017

Sat 02 September 2017

Sun 03 September 2017

BASIL HODGE TRIO (ft. Larry Bartley, Winston Clifford)

Basil Hodge (piano) Larry Bartley (double bass) Winston Clifford (drums) “Basil Hodge whether it’s his quintet, quartet or trio,have thrilled audiences throughout the UK with his charming compositions and emotional…

Wed 06 September 2017

Casey Golden Trio

As a club always excited to give new opportunities, here we focus on a new jazz piano talent from Australia who is beginning to make waves on the jazz scene…

Thu 07 September 2017

Jonny Mansfield’s Elftet

Jonny Mansfield’s Elftet was formed in September 2015, and is an extension of JMQ (his quartet) who have been playing together for over three years. His original compositions are influenced…

Fri 08 September 2017

LOUIS MOHOLO-MOHOLO

  Welcome visit of the South African drum master and his superb band. Moholo-Moholo is one of the most significant drummers in the music, having powered such seminal groups such…

Sat 09 September 2017

LOUIS MOHOLO-MOHOLO

  Welcome visit of the South African drum master and his superb band. Moholo-Moholo is one of the most significant drummers in the music, having powered such seminal groups such…

Sun 10 September 2017

London Jazz Orchestra

London’s longest running jazz residency continues as the LJO opens its new season at the Vortex Jazz. The LJO continues to set the standard in modern jazz, with great ensemble…

Mon 11 September 2017

Tue 12 September 2017

Trish Clowes’ My Iris

‘My Iris’ is a new project from BASCA award winning composer and saxophonist Trish Clowes. Following collaborations with string quartets and the BBC Concert Orchestra, My Iris shifts Clowes’ perspective…

Wed 13 September 2017

Sam Braysher / Michael Kanan Duo

To coincide with the release of their album, Golden Earrings (Fresh Sound New Talent Records), young London alto saxophonist Sam Braysher (who has recently been heard playing with Jorge Rossy,…

Thu 14 September 2017

John Bennett Band

John Bennett and his 14-piece band bring their cosmic, funk-infused sound garden to the Vortex once more for a wonderful evening gig this Sunday. A pioneering jazz composer, artist and…

Fri 15 September 2017

Sat 16 September 2017

Henry Lowther’s Still Waters

Henry Lowther is one of our greatest trumpeters, with a delicate play in melody and technique. Band includes Paul Clarvis (drums), Pete Hurt (saxophone), Dave Green (bass), Barry Green (piano)

Sun 17 September 2017

Tue 19 September 2017

Thu 21 September 2017

Fri 22 September 2017

Sat 23 September 2017

Sun 24 September 2017

Mon 25 September 2017

Tue 26 September 2017

Örjan Hultén Orion

Örjan Hultén – soprano and tenor saxophone Torbjörn Gulz – piano Filip Augustson – bass Peter Danemo – drums   Örjan Hultén, one of Sweden’s foremost saxophonists and improvisers, is…

Wed 27 September 2017

Thu 28 September 2017

Tue 22 August 2017

Fete Qua Qua (day 3)

Fete Quaqua is the 3 day festival out of our monthly Mopomoso sessions. Curated by John Russell, expect extraordinary sets from a group of like-minded musicians

Mon 21 August 2017

Fete Qua Qua (day 2)

Fete Quaqua is the 3 day festival out of our monthly Mopomoso sessions. Curated by John Russell, expect extraordinary sets from a group of like-minded musicians

Sun 20 August 2017

Fete Qua Qua Festival 20-22 August 2017

Mopomoso –  presenting the best in free improvisation Fête Quaqua 2017 Every year the guitarist John Russell puts together a project involving a group of highly creative and individual musicians…

Sat 19 August 2017

Jean Toussaint

A mesmerising saxophonist – thoughtful and emotional. No wonder he was a regular with the likes of Art Blakey’s Jazz Messengers and was specially invited by Kirk Lightsey to be…

Fri 18 August 2017

Jean Toussaint

A mesmerising saxophonist – thoughtful and emotional. No wonder he was a regular with the likes of Art Blakey’s Jazz Messengers and was specially invited by Kirk Lightsey to be…

An incredible double bill. First we have the Calum Gourlay Big Band, which over recent months has proved itself to be one of the premier young bands in London today.…

Thu 17 August 2017

Michele Montolli

With melodies collected over the past 5 years of travels in and out of the jungle that is London, Mikele’s debut album will take you from hectic space storms through…

Wed 16 August 2017

DESOLA

Soulful DESOLA is a new British-Nigerian soul singer-songwriter. Her new CD “REST” show cases an unique talent whose musical range covers Naija grooves, soul, funk and R&B. Her combination of…

Tue 15 August 2017

Amira Kheir

Hailed as the ‘Diva of the Sudanese desert’ (BBC World News) Sudanese-Italian singer Amira Kheir has been enchanting audiences around the world with a sound inspired by traditional music from…

Mon 14 August 2017

Sun 13 August 2017

Thelonious

Hans Koller (Valve Trombone, Euphonium) Martin Speake (Alto Saxophone) Calum Gourlay (Bass) TBC (Drums) Taking inspiration from the Steve Lacy/Roswell Rudd School Days band from the early 1960s, Thelonious explore the…

Sat 12 August 2017

Huw Williams / Lindhorst Group

Huw V Williams – a young welsh bassist and composer, and one of our favourite musicians and a great bassist, invites us on a new journey with Berlin-based Canadian saxophonist,…

Fri 11 August 2017

Duduvudu

The acclaimed Duduvudu cd is a celebration of the enduring musical spirit of Dudu Pukwana. Duduvudu, is a project under the direction of renowned London-born, San Francisco-based flautist Chloë Scott.…

Thu 10 August 2017

Wed 09 August 2017

Tue 08 August 2017

TOBY FOYEH

British-Nigerian guitarist Toby Foyeh enjoys massive success in USA where he is now based. His music is a musical melting pot created out of a unique fusion of traditional Nigerian Yoruba…

Fri 04 August 2017

Esther Bennett

Popular vocalist on the London jazz scene, performing regularly at The 606 Jazz Club, The Vortex, The Spice of Life, Pizza Express Dean st. Jagz. Wakefield Jazz, FleeceJazz, Art House Crouch…

Wed 02 August 2017

GILAD ATZMON / SAUL RUBIN

The return of a New York special! A chance to hear saxophonist Gilad Atzmon with guitarist Saul Rubin, frequently in the band of Sonny Rollins and visiting from New York.…

Tue 01 August 2017

Sun 30 July 2017

LAUREN KINSELLA AND KIT DOWNES

Vocalist of the Jazz FM Awards 2016 and the Mercury Prize nominee pianist collaborate for this occasion, where empathy, experimentation, unusual techniques and a highly personal repertoire taken from across…

Sat 29 July 2017

Bokani Dyer Trio

Following his previous sold out shows at the Vortex, we’re thrilled to welcome back this formidable young talent for two nights, the first for a late night show. Botswana-born pianist…

Fri 28 July 2017

Martin Speake Quartet featuring Ethan Iverson

Martin Speake revives a partnership with Ethan Iverson (best known for his work as a member of Bad Plus) that goes back over a decade. So it’s a pleasure to…

Thu 27 July 2017

Muntu Valdo

One of the most imaginative African musicians returns to the Vortex. Sensitive guitar playing and dreamy, voice with distinctively textured, self-created loops and rhythms. The music has an airy, poetic…

Wed 26 July 2017

SARAH TANDY TRIO

The return of one of the very talented younger pianists. BBC Young  Musician of the Year, member of Camilla George Quartet. And mesmerising. Sarah Tandy is one of the U.K’s…

Tue 25 July 2017

THE AFROCENTRICS

Electric bassist Emmanuel Adeniran and his band The Afrocentrics play the sounds and rhythms of the African diasporas taking in jazz, funk, afrobeat, salsa, reggae and adding a modern twist.…

Mon 24 July 2017

CALUM GOURLAY BIG BAND

Our monthly residency continues for a big band initiated by bassist Calum Gourlay, known for his great work with Thelonious, an award-winning solo album and more. “I want it to…

Sun 23 July 2017

MOJO: the Moderately Optimistic Jazz Orchestra

Round up your weekend with the fabulous  Moderately Optimistic Jazz Orchestra bringing its candid sound to the Vortex once more. They’ll be playing you big band jazz and soul music…

Site by OBLONG