Become A Member. Just £100 a year
Subscribe

Subscribe to our mailing list for up-to-date gig information, news and ticket offers

Pick a date
Loading Events

Vortex Jazz Club

+ Google Map
11 Gillett Square
London, N16 8AZ
020 7254 4097
Next Page

Sun 25 February 2018

Dock in Absolute

Exciting young European trio centred around pianist Jean Philippe Koch’s powerful original compositions and virtuoso playing. Their latest album was released on the prestigious Camjazz label (home to the likes…

Mon 26 February 2018

Stefania Arcieri Ensemble

Singer Stefania Arcieri brings a star-studded band to support her powerful vocals. With Gareth Lockrane (Flute), Sam Leak (piano), Andrea di Biase (bass) An intense encounter between harmonies, textures and…

Tue 27 February 2018

Noah Stoneman Trio

Noah Stoneman was  a finallist in the recent BBC Young Jazz Musician of the Year. He is also a member of the band of trumpeter Alexandra Ridout. Youth, maturity and…

Wed 28 February 2018

The Kandinsky Effect

“The Kandinsky Effect have not made the best jazz album of the year, nor the best rock album of the year. Whatever it is, it’s still one of the best…

Thu 01 March 2018

Fri 02 March 2018

Sat 03 March 2018

Henry Lowther’s Still Waters

***** “A giant of British jazz… gorgeous, limpid tunes that make for thoroughly seductive listening… by turns playful, elegant and ingenious” – BBC Music Magazine

Sun 04 March 2018

TOBY FOYEH

British-Nigerian guitarist Toby Foyeh enjoys massive success in USA where he is now based. Following his successful August show last year, This will be his second show in London after…

Mon 05 March 2018

Wed 07 March 2018

Joyful Noise present: Patrick Bebey solo

French-Cameroonian pianist Patrick Bebey makes his London piano solo debut. Patrick Bebey build his name playing and recording with Miriam Makeba, Papa Wemba, Mory Kante, Roy Ayers, Lokua Kanza, Ladysmith…

Thu 08 March 2018

Fri 09 March 2018

Sat 10 March 2018

Carol Grimes – The Singer’s Tale

Mixing storytelling with song, one of the UK’s jazz treasures reads from her recently published memoirs ‘The Singer’s Tale’ punctuated with songs spanning her career. ‘Grimes has a fascinating story…

Sun 11 March 2018

John Bennett Big Band

A stalwart of the old Vortex club in Stoke Newington,the band now plays a regular spot at the new Vortex in Dalston. With John’s fantastic compositions and an always exciting…

Mon 12 March 2018

WARRIORS INTL PRESENT: FREEDOM

Continuing the monthly open-minded Freedom Improv session. There’s an opening short set from an adhoc ensemble, swiftly followed by constantly shifting sets of soul stirring improv sessions open to all… So…

Wed 14 March 2018

Thu 15 March 2018

Fri 16 March 2018

Éiriocht: New Music From Ireland (DAY 1)

TICKET LINK FOR BOTH NIGHTS  Éiríocht is a radical alternative to traditional celebrations for St. Patrick’s Weekend 2018. With curated performances by Diatribe Records, Ireland’s foremost label for new sounds…

Sat 17 March 2018

Sun 18 March 2018

Mopomoso

Three contrasting sets to delight and inspire in the relaxed and intimate listening environment of the world famous Vortex Jazz club. FIRST SET Neil Metcalfe (flute) / John Rangecroft (sax/clarinet)…

Fri 23 March 2018

Sat 24 March 2018

Tue 27 March 2018

Wed 28 March 2018

Thu 29 March 2018

Sat 31 March 2018

IAN SHAW

Long-time Vortex favourite Ian Shaw returns to the club with his solo show sizzling with wit and dazzling with songs from his new album “Shine Sister Shine”.

Sun 01 April 2018

Tue 03 April 2018

Jeff Williams Lifelike Album Launch

US drummer/composer Jeff Williams returns to the Vortex to celebrate the release of his album Lifelike, recorded there with this sextet last June on the last stop of a wide-ranging tour.

Wed 04 April 2018

Federico Albanese

Federico Albanese is back on tour presenting his third full-length album By The Deep Sea, out on Neue Meister on February 23rd, 2018. “By The Deep Sea is a state of mind in…

Sun 25 February 2018

Dock in Absolute

Exciting young European trio centred around pianist Jean Philippe Koch’s powerful original compositions and virtuoso playing. Their latest album was released on the prestigious Camjazz label (home to the likes…

Sat 24 February 2018

Fri 23 February 2018

Meg Morley Trio

Recently deemed an ‘Exceptional Talent’ by Arts Council England, Meg Morley released two debut recordings of her original music in 2017.

Thu 22 February 2018

ELLIOT GALVIN – THE INFLUENCING MACHINE (2nd night)

ELLIOT GALVIN – THE INFLUENCING MACHINE – ALBUM LAUNCH ELLIOT GALVIN piano, synthesizer, toys TOM McCREDIE double bass, guitar CORRIE DICK drums, percussion Led by composer/pianist Elliot Galvin, The Influencing Machine is a sonic reaction to…

Wed 21 February 2018

ELLIOT GALVIN – THE INFLUENCING MACHINE (1st night)

ELLIOT GALVIN – THE INFLUENCING MACHINE – ALBUM LAUNCH ELLIOT GALVIN piano, synthesizer, toys TOM McCREDIE double bass, guitar CORRIE DICK drums, percussion Led by composer/pianist Elliot Galvin, The Influencing Machine is a sonic reaction to…

Mon 19 February 2018

Calum Gourlay Big Band

Bassist Calum Gourlay’s big band is a band of energy and joy, having developed over the course of over a year at the Vortex. He brings stunning arrangements and a…

Sun 18 February 2018

Mopomoso ‘The Afternoon Sessions’

CRUSH!!! CRUSH!!! are Sonic Pleasure, Mark Browne and Ian Smith. The group utilises a vast array of found and home-made sound making devices combined with more traditional instruments. Sonic Pleasure…

Sat 17 February 2018

Stan Sulzmann Quartet

Stan Sulzmann is one of our greatest saxophonists. Connecting with a sublime tone and imaginative creative ability to audiences, and a supreme role model to the newer generation. Tonight he…

NYJC & Hackney Youth Jazz Ensemble

Vortex – In The Changes, NYJC and Hackney Music Service present a series of Saturday concerts featuring the bright stars of tomorrow’s jazz. The National Youth Jazz Collective is a…

Fri 16 February 2018

Thu 15 February 2018

Wed 14 February 2018

Valentines Special: Kitchman / Schmidt & Guests

Two compelling improvisers emerging from London’s jazz scene, James Kitchman (UK) and Sylvia Schmidt (DE) are an accomplished guitar-vocal duo. Originally drawn together by the richness and variety of the…

Tue 13 February 2018

Luis Vicente/Olie Brice/Mark Sanders

This is a special event at the Vortex, a club which thrives on the chances to hear new and partnerships. Luís Vicente is a Portugese trumpet player, improviser and composer. …

Mon 12 February 2018

Warriors International present: Freedom

Continuing into the New Year the monthly open-minded Freedom Improv session. There’s an opening short set from an adhoc ensemble, swiftly followed by constantly shifting sets of soul stirring improv sessions…

Sun 11 February 2018

London Jazz Orchestra (LJO)

A swinging Pete Hurt special!  The LJO continue London’s longest jazz residency with a feast of modern big-band jazz featuring a host of great soloists including Martin Speake and Martin…

Sat 10 February 2018

Fri 09 February 2018

Wed 07 February 2018

Barry Green Sextet

A welcome return of pianist Barry Green’s outstanding sextet. Barry Green (Piano) Miguel Gorodi (Trumpet) Sam Braysher (Alto Saxophone) Tom Barford (Tenor Saxophone) Flo Moore (Bass) Will Glaser (Drums) Since…

Tue 06 February 2018

LEKAN BABALOLA’S SACRED FUNK QUARTET  

LEKAN BABALOLA’S SACRED FUNK QUARTET   LEKAN BABALOLA (percussion), KATE LUXMORE (bass clarinet), BEN MARKLAND (bass) and RUBEN REYNOLDS (guitar) Twice Grammy award winning Nigerian percussionist Lekan Babalola is well known…

Mon 05 February 2018

Sun 04 February 2018

Sat 03 February 2018

Fri 02 February 2018

A Portrait of Cannonball featuring Tony Kofi, Byron Wallen

Alto-sax master Tony Kofi fronts this loving celebration of the jazz giant (in every sense) Julian ‘Cannnonball’ Adderley.  With Byron Wallen on cornet, Alex Webb (piano), Andy Cleyndert (bass) and Alfonso Vitale (drums)…

Thu 01 February 2018

Tue 30 January 2018

Loz Speyer’s Time Zone

Loz Speyer – trumpet, flugelhorn Martin Hathaway – alto sax, bass clarinet Stuart Hall – guitar Dave Manington – double bass Andy Ball – drums Maurizio Ravalico – congas + special…

Sat 27 January 2018

Three Way Stretch + Liam Noble Trio

A double bill of two contrasting trios both of which feature pianist Liam Noble and drummer Dave Wickins. Malcolm Earle Smith (trombone) joins Liam and Dave to perform with Three…

Fri 26 January 2018

CLARK TRACEY QUINTET

The English equivalent of Art Blakey – a great drummer, most often known here for his work with father Stan, works today with the stars of tomorrow. Playing originals and standards…

Thu 25 January 2018

Blow The Fuse presents: Tomorrow The Moon 5

Annie Whitehead with the BTF all stars plus Rosie Turton Quintet An evening of Double Trouble, with two Trombone led groups promising inventive blend of jazz with influences from Africa…

Site by OBLONG