Become A Member. Just £100 a year Subscribe
Pick a date

Album launch

Album launches are special – the chance to celebrate a new release with friends and music lovers.

Sun 25 November 2018

Family Band – Board of Origin Album Launch

Comprising four long-term collaborators and friends (thus the ‘family’ tag), the band takes as its starting point the freewheeling music of the 1960s free jazz revolution; moments of fierce intensity, introspection and the blues all combining into an emotionally complex and often cathartic whole.

Tue 04 December 2018

Wed 04 July 2018

Sat 23 June 2018

Enzo Zirilli Zirobop

Led by Italian drummer Enzo Zirilli, he has put together a band which includes Rob Luft and Misha Mullov-Abbado, two of our great rising stars and second guitarist Alessandro Chiapetta. A band of energy and pleasure, keen to both challenge and entertain.

Wed 20 June 2018

Sun 17 June 2018

Dugong

Dugong’s compositions have lyricism at their heart, intertwined with pulsating grooves and epic riffs. An Italian group full of imagination, including bassist Andrea di Biase.

Fri 15 June 2018

Inspiration – Alina Bzhezhinska Quartet

Harpist Alina Bzhezhinska leads a quartet including Tony Kofi, which investigates the spiritual and creative work of Alice Coltrane, a musician who developed the work of John Coltrane, after the death of her husband. Its performances have all been received as very special, so it’s a privilege that she is hosting the album launch at the Vortex.

Wed 06 June 2018

Tue 05 June 2018

Onyx Brass and Jason Rebello

A new crossover project featuring music by Kenny Wheeler, Gwilym Simcock, Trish Clowes, and more. The first set will be of a group led by Jason Rebello, one of the greatest imaginative pianists that anyone could want to hear.

Wed 28 March 2018

Tue 27 March 2018

Thu 08 March 2018

Sat 03 March 2018

Henry Lowther’s Still Waters

***** “A giant of British jazz… gorgeous, limpid tunes that make for thoroughly seductive listening… by turns playful, elegant and ingenious” – BBC Music Magazine

Fri 23 February 2018

Meg Morley Trio

Recently deemed an ‘Exceptional Talent’ by Arts Council England, Meg Morley released two debut recordings of her original music in 2017.

Thu 22 February 2018

ELLIOT GALVIN – THE INFLUENCING MACHINE (2nd night)

ELLIOT GALVIN – THE INFLUENCING MACHINE – ALBUM LAUNCH ELLIOT GALVIN piano, synthesizer, toys TOM McCREDIE double bass, guitar CORRIE DICK drums, percussion Led by composer/pianist Elliot Galvin, The Influencing Machine is a sonic reaction to […]

Wed 21 February 2018

ELLIOT GALVIN – THE INFLUENCING MACHINE (1st night)

ELLIOT GALVIN – THE INFLUENCING MACHINE – ALBUM LAUNCH ELLIOT GALVIN piano, synthesizer, toys TOM McCREDIE double bass, guitar CORRIE DICK drums, percussion Led by composer/pianist Elliot Galvin, The Influencing Machine is a sonic reaction to […]

Sat 20 January 2018

CLOUDMAKERS FIVE – Traveling Pulse

Return of this band, to launch their new album on Whirlwind. A veritable supergroup! Jim Hart, Dave Smith, Michael Janisch, Anthonin Tri-Hoang (heard here most recently with Eve Risser), Hannes […]

Thu 04 January 2018

Sat 02 December 2017

Ed Jones Quartet

Ed Jones never fails to create a great night of music. Known for work with the likes of Killer Shrimp, the chart-topping US3 but also extending to periods with John […]

Wed 25 October 2017

Malija – 2nd night

Mark Lockheart, Jasper Høiby, Liam Noble. Three of the great heroes of the Vortex team up to create the imaginative and enjoyable jazz that we have been led to expect […]

Tue 24 October 2017

Malija – 1st night of 2

Mark Lockheart, Jasper Høiby, Liam Noble. Three of the great heroes of the Vortex team up to create the imaginative and enjoyable jazz that we have been led to expect […]

Fri 20 October 2017

Monica Vasconcelos – The Sao Paulo Tapes

Exclusive London album launch! Monica Vasconcelos’ interpretations of compositions written by some of Brazil’s greatest “songpoets”, including Aldir Blanc, Chico Buarque, Ivan Lins and Caetano Veloso, responding to the era of the era of military dictatorship.

Thu 19 October 2017

Evan Parker, Mat Maneri, Lucian Ban

Evan Parker invites Lucian Ban and Mat Maneri to join him for his monthly series. This gig celebrates the launch of a new album, under Mat’s name, Sounding Tears (Clean […]

Sun 08 October 2017

De Beren Gieren

This is one of the leading new European piano trios, from Belgium. We are fortunate that they will play at the Vortex as part of a short UK tour. The […]

Fri 15 September 2017

Thu 17 August 2017

Michele Montolli

With melodies collected over the past 5 years of travels in and out of the jungle that is London, Mikele’s debut album will take you from hectic space storms through […]

Wed 16 August 2017

DESOLA

Soulful DESOLA is a new British-Nigerian soul singer-songwriter. Her new CD “REST” show cases an unique talent whose musical range covers Naija grooves, soul, funk and R&B. Her combination of […]

Sun 16 July 2017

Tue 04 July 2017

Sat 24 June 2017

New Simplicity Trio

Bruno Heinen: Piano (UK) Henrik Jensen: Double Bass (Denmark) Antonio Fusco: Drums (Italy)   “High quality writing, intimate execution. ****'(Jazzwise) New Simplicity Trio plays compositions by each member of the […]

Wed 14 June 2017

Olie Brice Quintet

Olie Brice is one of our most innovative bass players because he knows how to lead a group as well as anchor. So it’s a great pleasure to have him […]

Fri 19 May 2017

WALLER

Mark Lewandowski – double bass Liam Noble – piano, fender rhodes Paul Clarvis – drums Rising-star bassist, Mark Lewandowski brings together two of the most highly respected musicians on the […]

Fri 12 May 2017

Sat 18 March 2017

Sun 26 February 2017

Vocal Global

Vocal Global is a musical journey around the world from the Caribbean to the Middle East consisting of vocals, ethnic beat boxing with conscious lyrics in Hebrew, English and Creole. […]

Sun 12 February 2017

Wed 01 February 2017

TRICHOTOMY

Sean Foran – piano John Parker – drums Samuel Vincent – bass  Australian piano trio Trichotomy really need no introduction. Over the course of three compelling albums for Naim Jazz […]

Mon 30 January 2017

BECCA TOFT ALBUM LAUNCH

Becca Toft presents her Album Launch Tour with a full performance of her debut album “Searching” with her octet. Searching is a concept album Becca wrote about the search of […]

Wed 07 December 2016

Solstice – Alimentation album launch

Solstice is an ensemble comprising some of the foremost bandleaders and composers emerging from the thriving East London music scene, including in-demand saxophonist Tori Freestone and renowned vocalist Brigitte Beraha. They have […]

Sun 20 November 2016

Sat 15 October 2016

Fri 14 October 2016

Alex Munk Flying Machines

Alex Munk: guitars; Matt Robinson: piano, synthesizers; Fender Rhodes; Conor Chaplin: electric & double bass; Dave Hamblett: drums. From allaboutjazz: “Flying Machines is the eponymous debut album by a group […]

Thu 13 October 2016

ANDREA VICARI – The Mirror

This October Andrea Vicari, jazz pianist and composer and her band will be touring the UK playing the music from her latest album ‘The Mirror’. Joining Andrea on Sax will […]

Thu 22 September 2016

Rick Simpson’s Klammer

Exciting to host this album launch on Two Rivers Records. Award-winning pianist and composer Rick Simpson has been no stranger to the heart of the London jazz scene – on both the new […]

Thu 08 September 2016

TORI FREESTONE TRIO

Launch of the new album El Barranco by Tori Freestone’s Trio. Tori Freestone is a saxophonist, flautist and violinist who has been performing at the forefront of the British improvised […]

Wed 03 August 2016

John Martin Hidden Notes

Launching their new album. ‘The Hidden Notes’ offers a window into a new and unique sound world. It is a celebration of the saxophone and all the beautiful colours that […]

Mon 01 August 2016

Mon 18 July 2016

Michelson Morley + Twelves DOUBLE ALBUM LAUNCH! with Alex Bonney

Album launches for two new albums on Babel. “Muscle, imagination and pure joy of musicianship” Jake McMurchie’s Michelson Morley + Twelves (Riaan Vosloo, Tim Giles, Rob Updegraff, Mark Hanslip) Guardian, […]

Wed 06 July 2016

Justin Thurgur

Justin Thurgur – Trombone Graeme Flowers – Trumpet Kishon Khan – Piano/Rhodes Liran Donin – Double Bass Oreste Noda – Congas Pat Illingworth – Drums Justin Thurgur, trombonist for Bellowhead, […]

Thu 30 June 2016

DUCK BAKER TRIO AND QUARTET (CD LAUNCH)

Duck Baker, guitar Alex Ward, clarinet John Edwards, bass Steve Noble, drums Fingerstyle guitar master Duck Baker returns to the Vortex with his trio/quartet, for another evening devoted to his […]

Site by OBLONG